USA, Canada Women’s Water Polo Win Group Titles at Pan American Games

Pan American Games – Women’s Water Polo

The United States and Canada won Group A and Group B respectively with perfect 3-0 records in the preliminary round of women’s water polo action at the Pan American Games.

The Americans bested Puerto Rico (23-3), Brazil (20-4) and Venezuela (23-3), while Canada topped Cuba (20-5), Peru (28-2) and Mexico (27-6).

With eight teams participating in the competition, all advance to Thursday’s quarterfinal round.

Aug. 8 – Quarterfinals
8 a.m. Brazil vs. Mexico
9:30 a.m. Puerto Rico vs. Cuba
11 a.m. USA vs. Peru
12:30 p.m. Venezuela vs. Canada

Pool Play Results

Aug. 4
Group A
Brazil vs. Venezuela Brazil 15-4
Puerto Rico vs. USA USA 23-3
Group B
Cuba vs. Canada Canada 20-5
Peru vs. Mexico Mexico 22-1
Aug. 5
Group A
Puerto Rico vs. Venezuela Puerto Rico 9-5
Brazil vs. USA USA 20-4
Group B
Peru vs. Canada Canada 28-2
Cuba vs. Mexico Cuba 13-4
Aug. 6
Group A
Brazil vs. Puerto Rico Brazil 12-8
Venezuela vs. USA USA 23-3
Group B
Cuba vs. Peru Cuba 19-5
Canada vs. Mexico Canada 27-6

Statistical Standouts

  • Canada was the top scoring team during pool play, making 75 of its 126 shots. The United States followed with 66 goals in 97 tries, while Cuba (37), Mexico (32) and Brazil (31) rounded out the top five.
  • The USA was the most efficient in scoring, putting in 68 percent of its shots (66 of 97). Canada was next with 59.5 percent (75 of 126).
  • Individually, Canada’s Emma Wright leads all scorers with 13 goals ( in 20 shots), followed by Canada’s Axelle Crevier (12), Cuba’s Mayelin Bernal Villa (11), American Stephanie Haralabidis (11) and Canada’s Shae Fournier (10).
  • In terms of efficiency, American Makenzie Fischer is tops among all players, making 90 percent of her shots (9 of 10). Haralabidis (84.6 percent, 11 of 13), American Kiley Neushul (77.8 percent, 7 of 9), Brazil’s Viviane Bahia (75.0 percent, 9 of 12) and Crevier (70.6, 12 of 17).
    • Canadian Emma Wright put in four extra-player shots (in 4 attempts) to lead all players in that category.
    • Cuban Mayelin Bernal Villa and Mexican Edith Flores Livas each made three penalties to lead the competition.
    • American Stephanie Haralabidis has made eight action shots, followed by Canada’s Axelle Crevier and Emma Wright, who each had put in seven.
    • Canada’s Krystina Alogbo has made four center shots (in 8 tries), while four players have put in three center shot goals.
  • Cuba’s Mairells Zunzunegui Morgan leads all goalkeepers with 37 saves, followed by Mexico’s Lizil Patino Bueno (22), Brazil’s Victoria Chamorro (21) and Peru’s Alyssa Barnuevo Castro (20).
  • In terms of save percentage, American Ashleigh Johnson leads the competition with 72.0 percent (18 of 25). Zunzunegui Morgan (56.1 percent, 37 of 66) and Canada’s Jessica Gaudreault (55.2 percent, 16 of 29) follow.

Leave a Reply

Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments