U.S. Masters Swimming Annual Meeting Wrap Up

by SwimSwam 0

September 22nd, 2022 Masters, National, News

Courtesy: U.S. Masters Swimming / Daniel Paulling

U.S. Masters Swimming has concluded its at-large director elections and honored many of its deserving volunteers with service awards during its 2022 hybrid annual meeting.

USMS is pleased to announce that the following at-large directors were re-elected or elected for their zones: Sue Nutty (Breadbasket Zone), Charles Cockrell (Colonies Zone), Britta O’Leary (Southeast Zone), Susan Ehringer (Great Lakes Zone), Paige Buehler (Northwest Zone), John King (Oceana Zone), Kris Wingenroth (South Central Zone), and Jeff Commings (Southwest Zone).

The Capt. Ransom J. Arthur M.D. Award is given annually to the volunteer who epitomizes the spirit of Ransom J. Arthur, the founding father of U.S. Masters Swimming. In 1970, Arthur envisioned lifelong fitness and lifestyle benefits for adults through aquatic training and competition. Each year, the recipient of the Ransom J. Arthur award has demonstrated top-tier commitment and dedication to the mission of USMS. This year’s recipients are Jim and Anna Lea Matysek (Florida).

U.S. Masters Swimming honors volunteers whose service stands out in scope and impact with the U.S. Masters Swimming Dorothy Donnelly Service Award. Recipients of this award have made significant contributions on the local, regional, and national level. The award is named after Dorothy Donnelly, one of USMS’s first super-volunteers. This year, the recipients are Diana Dolan Lamar (Southern Pacific), Ali Hall (Pacific), Ian King (Pacific), April Wyncott (Michigan), Mark Hahn (Gulf), Jerrilynn Bayless (Indiana), Al Prescott (New England), Mary Sweat (Oregon), John Pettibone (Pacific), Doug Jelen (Pacific Northwest), Greg Danner (Niagara), Maddie Sibilia (Oklahoma), Stacy Abrams (South Texas), and Colette Crabbe (Oregon).

The U.S. Masters Swimming June Krauser Communications Award is presented annually to an individual or group whose communications efforts have contributed to the growth, improvement, or success of U.S. Masters Swimming. The award is named for June Krauser, the author of USMS’s first official rulebook and a prolific writer and editor of many newsletters and other publications in the Masters swimming world. This year’s recipient is Nicole Christensen (Gulf).

U.S. Masters Swimming considers club development a priority, and recognizes a local and a regional club every year with the U.S. Masters Swimming Club of the Year Award. Masters swim clubs that do the most to promote the values and mission of U.S. Masters Swimming, not only in their communities, but also at the national level, are candidates for this award. This year’s Local Club of the Year is Masters of South Texas (South Texas).

The U.S. Masters Swimming Coaches Committee recognizes coaches who are building our membership in communities throughout the country. The U.S. Masters Swimming Kerry O’Brien Coaching Award is named to honor Coach Kerry O’Brien of Walnut Creek Masters, who embodies the passion, dedication, and heart that these coaches bring to the pool deck. This year’s recipients are B.J. Graham (Florida LMSC, Swim Melbourne Masters), Jimmy Parmenter (Nebraska LMSC, Brownell Talbot Aquatic Club – Masters), Danny Prear (Illinois LMSC, Mighty Kroc Masters Swim Club), and Judi Norton (Lake Erie LMSC, O*H*I*O Masters Swim Club).

The Long Distance National Championship Award is presented annually to a USMS-registered individual or group that has made significant contributions to the success and promotion of USMS long distance national championship events. These include the five ePostals and six open water events. This year’s recipient is Jeff Erwin (Snake River).

The U.S. Masters Swimming Open Water Service Award honors individuals who have made significant contributions to promoting and building excellence in USMS open water swimming by embodying the USMS mission, vision, goals, and objectives through open water swimming; contributing notably, such as serving in USMS national committees, LMSC open water or long distance chair, event or safety director, official, coach, clinician, or volunteer); contributes notably at different levels of USMS (i.e. national, zone, LMSC, and/or local); or demonstrates extraordinary measurable achievement and impact. This year’s award goes to Shirley Loftus-Charley (Virginia).

The U.S. Masters Swimming Officials Excellence Award is given annually to a Certified Official in recognition of outstanding and significant contributions to U.S. Masters Swimming at the international, national, zone, and/or local level, including pool and open water competitions. The recipient isn’t required to be a U.S. Masters Swimming member. An individual may receive this award only once. The recipient may be a currently active official or one who has retired from officiating or is deceased. This year’s award recipient is Jacki Allender (Oregon).

The Diversity, Equity & Inclusion Award is presented annually to the athletes, coaches, volunteers, or clubs who show a public commitment to diversity, equity, equality, and inclusion across race, gender, age, religion, identity, and ability at the club, LMSC/Zone, or national level. The award recognizes individuals or clubs that create a diverse and inclusive environment in USMS, thereby making everyone feel empowered to bring their full, authentic, unique selves to the sport. This year’s recipients for the inaugural Diversity, Equity & Inclusion Award are Rook Campbell (Southern Pacific), Donita Flecker (Pacific), Laura Dennison (New England), Sarah Welch (Pacific Northwest), and the IGLA 2022 organizing committee.

The National Championship Meets Award is presented annually by the Raleigh Area Masters Swim Team in cooperation with the Championship Committee. The award goes to someone who makes significant contributions to USMS National Championship meets and recognizes efforts to assist USMS and meet hosts in providing excellent competitive conditions for championship racing or otherwise contributing to the success of USMS National Championships or national championship-level competitions (including international meets) held in the U.S. This year’s recipient is Jim Clemmons (Snake River).

Each year USMS honors a coach who exemplifies the highest standards in Masters coaching, including growth and development of Masters swimming with an all-inclusive approach, one that welcomes swimmers of all levels and abilities. This year’s U.S. Masters Swimming Coach of the Year is Linda Irish Bostic (Florida LMSC, Palm Beach Masters).

Lastly, the Ted Haartz U.S. Masters Swimming Staff Appreciation Award is named in honor of Ted Haartz, a leader in U.S. Masters Swimming since 1970. Ted helped establish the foundation for USMS’s evolution into a professionally operated organization. The award celebrates our volunteer roots, as well as our future, specifically by recognizing one volunteer each year who demonstrates excellence in assisting and supporting the National Office staff with its professional duties of serving our members and promoting Masters Swimming. This year’s recipient is Stacy Abrams (South Texas).

Leave a Reply

Notify of

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments