Toussaint, Kamminga Set Dutch Records at Swim Cup The Hague – Day 1

2018 Swim Cup The Hague

Night one of the 2018 Swim Cup The Hauge in The Hauge, Netherlands, featured prelims and finals for women’s and men’s 1500 free, 50 fly, 200 breast, 100 back, and 200 free. There were also timed finals for the para 100 back and 200 free.

Laura Setz kicked off the night with a new meet record in the 1500m free, winning in 17:05.23. Marij van der Mast took second in 17:20.52, followed by Sterre van de Goor in 18:38.28. William Ryley won the men’s race in 15:45.45, followed by Marcel Schouten in 16:00.35 and Pepijn Smits in 16:04.30.

Kim Busch won the women’s 50 fly in meet record fashion, going 26.39. She was followed by Elinore de Jong in 26.68 and Kinge Zandringa in 26.85. Mathys Goosen set a meet record in the men’s race, winning in 23.63. Jesse Puts took second in 23.82, followed by Nyls Korstanje in 23.84.

Tes Schouten won the women’s 200 breast by over 4 seconds, setting a new record for 18-year-olds: 2:28.33. Anke Geeroms went 2:32.93 for second place, followed by Rosey Metz in 2:39.76. In the men’s race, Arno Kamminga set a new Dutch record, winning in 2:08.75 (under the qualification time for the 2018 European Championships). In second was Basten Caerts in 2:16.15, followed by Jacob Greenow in 2:16.25. In fifth place was SB9 swimmer Duncan van Haaren, who set a new European record in 2:22.65.

In the women’s 100 back, Kira Toussaint set a new Dutch record, going 59.94 (under the qualification time for the 2018 European Championships). The swim makes her the first Dutch woman break 1:00. Tessa Vermeulen took second in 1:00.67, followed by Marieke Tienstra in 1:01.81. Joseph Hulme set a new meet record in the men’s race, winning in 55.77. Jelle Betten took second in 56.44, followed by Jari Groenhart in 56.98.

Femke Heemskerk won the women’s 200 free in 1:56.97 (under the qualification time for the 2018 European Championships), followed by Robin Neumann in 1:59.80. Marjolein Delno took third in 2:00.12. Maarten Brzoskowski won the men’s race in 1:48.69. Dion Dreesens took second in 1:49.05, followed by Kyle Stolk in 1:49.11.

S8 swimmer Cleo Keijzer won the women’s para 100 back in 1:18.01, followed by S10 swimmer Lisa Kruger in 1:10.54, followed by S13 swimmer Sanne Hofman in 1:18.84. S14 swimmer Marc Evers won the men’s race in 1:01.72, followed by S9 swimmer Thijs van den End in 1:06.82 and S14 swimmer Michiel Jorink in 1:04.18.

S11 swimmer Liesette Bruinsma won the women’s para 200 free in 2:25.83, followed by S9 swimmer Manon Vermarien in 2:23.17, and S14 swimmer Amber van der Kruk in 2:15.95. S14 swimmer Sebastiaan Broere won the men’s race in 2:06.90, followed by S14 swimmer Michiel Jorink (who swam back-to-back races) in 2:06.97, and S4 swimmer Darko Duric in 3:14.04.

In This Story

Leave a Reply

Notify of

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments

About Torrey Hart

Torrey Hart

Torrey is from Oakland, CA, and majored in media studies and American studies at Claremont McKenna College, where she swam distance freestyle for the Claremont-Mudd-Scripps team. Outside of SwimSwam, she has bylines at Sports Illustrated, Yahoo Sports, SB Nation, and The Student Life newspaper.

Read More »