Tokyo Timing: International Young Guns’ Olympic Schedules

Click here to see all of our Tokyo 2020 Olympic Previews.

2020 TOKYO SUMMER OLYMPIC GAMES

The Olympic Games in Tokyo, Japan will see the swimming finals take place in the morning with prelims happening in the evening hours. This harkens back to the 2008 Olympic Games in Beijing when we saw the same unconventional agenda to accommodate television broadcast schedules.

In terms of blocking out your calendar, things also get a little tricky since Tokyo’s time zone is 13 hours ahead of Eastern, just one example of how many swim fans around the world will have some type of time gap to contend with when determining when the big names will be in the pool.

To help you along, we picked out 4 of the biggest American swimming names and mapped out their schedules with Tokyo and Eastern time zone considerations. We also performed the same exercise for key Aussies.

Now let’s expand further and review when some of the youngest international swimmers will be taking the biggest stage of their careers. Below are the times to make note of for some of the most dynamic rising stars in the sport.

Summer McIntosh, 14 (CAN)

  • Saturday, July 24th: OFF
  • Sunday, July 25th:
    • 20:06 Tokyo/07:06 Ontario – 400m free heats
  • Monday, July 26th:
    • 11:20 Tokyo/22:20 Ontario Sunday – 400m free final
    • 19:02 Tokyo/06:02 Ontario – 200m free heats
  • Tuesday, July 27th:
    • 10:30 Tokyo/21:30 Ontario Monday – 200m free semi-finals
  • Wednesday, July 28th:
    • 10:41 Tokyo/21:41 Ontario Tuesday – 200m free final
    • 20:11 Tokyo/07:06 Ontario – 4x200m free relay heats
  • Thursday, July 29th:
    • 12:31 Tokyo/23:31 Ontario Wednesday – 4x200m free relay final
    • 19:02 Tokyo/06:02 Ontario – 800m free heats
  • Friday, July 30th: OFF
  • Saturday, July 31st:
    • 10:46 Tokyo/21:46 Ontario Friday – 800m free final

David Popovici, 16 (ROU)

  • Saturday, July 24th: OFF
  • Sunday, July 25th:
    • 19:17 Tokyo/13:17 Bucharest – 200m free heats
  • Monday, July 26th:
    • 10:37 Tokyo/04:37 Bucharest – 200m free semi-finals
  • Tuesday, July 27th
    • 10:43 Tokyo/04:43 Bucharest – 200m free final
    • 19:00 Tokyo/13:00 Bucharest – 100m free heats
  • Wednesday, July 28th
    • 10:30 Tokyo/04:30 Bucharest – 100m free semi-final
  • Thursday, July 29th
    • 11:37 Tokyo/05:37 Bucharest  – 100m free final
  • Friday, July 30th
    • 19:02 Tokyo/13:02 Bucharest – 50m free heats
  • Saturday, July 31st
    • 11:11 Tokyo/05:11 Bucharest – 50m free semi-final
  • Sunday, August 1st
    • 10:30 Tokyo/04:30 Bucharest – 50m free final

Benedetta Pilato, 16 (ITA)

  • Saturday, July 24th: OFF
  • Sunday, July 25th:
    • 19:34 Tokyo/12:34 Rome – 100m breast heats
  • Monday, July 26th:
    • 10:50 Tokyo/03:50 Rome – 100m breast semi-finals
  • Tuesday, July 27th:
    • 11:17 Tokyo/04:17 Rome – 100m breast final
  • Possibly women’s medley and mixed medley relay appearances later in the week

Hwang Sunwoo, 18 (KOR)

  • Saturday, July 24th: OFF
  • Sunday, July 25th:
    • 19:17 Tokyo/Seoul – 200m free heats
  • Monday, July 26th:
    • 10:37 Tokyo/Seoul – 200m free semi-finals
  • Tuesday, July 27th
    • 10:43 Tokyo/Seoul – 200m free final
    • 19:00 Tokyo/Seoul– 100m free heats
    • 19:54 Tokyo/Seoul – 4x200m free relay heats (possibly)
  • Wednesday, July 28th
    • 10:30 Tokyo/Seoul – 100m free semi-final
    • 12:26 Tokyo/Seoul – 4x200m free relay final
  • Thursday, July 29th
    • 11:37 Tokyo/Seoul  – 100m free final
  • Friday, July 30th
    • 19:02 Tokyo/Seoul – 50m free heats
  • Saturday, July 31st
    • 11:11 Tokyo/Seoul – 50m free semi-final
  • Sunday, August 1st
    • 10:30 Tokyo/Seoul– 50m free final

Katie Grimes, 15 & Bella Sims, 16 (USA)

  • Saturday, July 24th: OFF
  • Sunday, July 25th: OFF
  • Monday, July 26th: OFF
  • Tuesday, July 27th: OFF
  • Wednesday, July 28th:
    • 20:11 Tokyo/07:11 EST – 4x200m free relay heats – SIMS
  • Thursday, July 29th:
    • 12:31 Tokyo/23:31 EST Wednesday – 4x200m free relay final – SIMS (possibly)
    • 19:02 Tokyo/06:02 EST – 800m free heats – GRIMES
  • Friday, July 30th: OFF
  • Saturday, July 31st:
    • 10:46 Tokyo/21:46 EST Friday – 800m free final – GRIMES

Jacob Whittle, 16 (GBR)

  • Saturday, July 24th: OFF
  • Sunday, July 25th:
    • 20:30 Tokyo/12:30 London – 4x100m free relay heats
  • Monday, July 26th:
    • 12:05 Tokyo/04:05 London – 4x100m free relay final
  • Tuesday, July 27th
    • 19:00 Tokyo/11:00 London – 100m free heats
  • Wednesday, July 28th
    • 10:30 Tokyo/02:30 London – 100m free semi-final
  • Thursday, July 29th
    • 11:37 Tokyo/03:37 London – 100m free final
  • Possibly racing on mixed or men’s medley relay heats later in the week

In This Story

1
Leave a Reply

Subscribe
Notify of
1 Comment
oldest
newest most voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
andrew
1 month ago

chikunova?

About Retta Race

Retta Race

Swim analyst, businesswoman.

Read More »