Texas A&M Honors 2019-20 Season at Annual Banquet Via Zoom

by SwimSwam 0

May 16th, 2020 College, SEC

Courtesy: Texas A&M Athletics

COLLEGE STATION, Texas — The Texas A&M men’s & women’s swimming & diving teams celebrated the accomplishments of the 2019-20 season at the annual team banquet on Saturday from all over the world via Zoom.

Unfinished business themed the banquet as the season was cut short before either team was able to continue making its marks at NCAA Championships. After announcing academic and team awards, seniors reflected on their time at A&M before the event concluded with the announcement of 2020-21 team captains.

The women’s team faced a number of challenges throughout the 2019-20 season, but eventually saw 10 swimmers and four divers qualify for NCAA Championships, also earning CSCAA All-America honors. A&M was one of just 12 schools nationally to see double figure swimmers earn a spot to compete at NCAA Championships. In dual meet competition, the Aggies started the season with a big win over No. 14 Ohio State at home and remained ranked in the top 20 throughout the season.

The men’s team had one of its most accomplished seasons in program history. The team made its mark in the post season, battling back for a second-place finish at SEC Championships, where the Aggies tallied 15 medal finishes and set 11 new school records. Ten Aggies earned CSCAA All-America honors after qualifying for NCAA Championships. In the dual meet portion of the season, the Aggies cracked into the top five nationally, climbing as high as fourth for the first time since the 2001 season.

Complete list of 2019-20 awards:
Women’s Team
Swimming MVP – Anna Belousova and Jing Wen Quah
Most Improved Swimmer – Kara Eisenmann
Diving MVP – Charlye Campbell
Most Improved Diver – Harper Walding
Iron Lady Sports Performance Award – Kara Eisenmann
Aggie Heart Award in Memory of Bob Stallings – Jing Wen Quah
Jody Tanner-Hansen Optimist Award – Mollie Wright
2020-21 Team Captains – Camryn Toney, Kara Eisenmann, Taylor Pike and Charlye Campbell

Men’s Team
Danny Green Memorial MVP – Shaine Casas/Kurtis Mathews
Most Improved – Hudson Smith
Performance of the Year – Benjamin Walker defending his title as the SEC Champion in the 200 Breast with a school-record time of 1:51-.92.
Aggie Heart Award – Ethan Gogulski
Trey Heye Memorial Award – Jacob Schababerle
2020-21 Team Captains – Kurtis Mathews, Peter Simmons, Mark Theall and Clayton Bobo

In This Story

Leave a Reply

Notify of

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments