Swimming Australia Announces Roster for the 2014 BHP Billiton Aquatic Super Series

The Australian Swim Team will kick off the New Year in Perth this January, with a 30-strong team set to take on the might of Brazil, China, Japan and South Africa for the second year of the BHP Billiton Aquatic Super Series in Perth.

World Champions Cate Campbell, Christian Sprenger and James Magnussen will headline the Australian team to compete in the fast paced format, which will see teams race head-to-head over two nights of competition at VenuesWest Challenge Stadium and broadcast on Network Ten.

The team will also include five-time world championship silver medallist Alicia Coutts, as well as Great Britain Olympian Ellen Gandy who will be representing Australia for the first time in a senior long course international competition.

The event will see some of the biggest names in world swimming go head-to-head over the two days, including the likes of South African Olympic champions Cameron Van der Burgh and Chad Le Clos, Chinese gold medallist Ye Shiwen and Japan’s world championship silver medallist Kosuke Hagino.

Swimming Australia Director of High Performance Michael Scott says the meet is the ideal way to start the year.

“The 2014 year is a busy one when you look at international competition. We start with the BHP Billiton Aquatic Super Series in January, have our Trials in April and then the Commonwealth Games and Pan Pacs in July and August,” said Scott.

“To be able to race such strong international competitors to kick off the year, is a great way to prepare for the season ahead, and also to increase the amount of race experience and preparation we will get leading into Rio.”

After finishing agonisingly close behind South African Cameron Van der Burgh in the 100m breaststroke at the London Olympics, Christian Sprenger came back firing in Barcelona to turn the tables and take the gold.

With a recent title each to their name, Sprenger and Van der Burgh will battle for bragging rights once again when they meet in Perth, as well as world championship bronze medallist Felipe Lima from Brazil. The men’s breaststroke will be one of the highlights of the meet.

Also joining the team will be Australia’s newest swimming recruit, 22-year-old Gandy who will make her international debut for Australia at the event.

Gandy swam for Great Britain at the London 2012 Olympic Games and will be useful addition to the women’s butterfly events after setting a new Commonwealth and Australian record in the 200m butterfly at the 2013 Australian Short Course Championships in August.

Gandy will swim alongside four other senior team rookies including Daniel Lester, Madeline Groves, Taylor McKeown and Keryn McMaster, while Ben Treffers and Leiston Pickett will join 23 members of 2013 world championship team to round out Australia’s squad for the meet.

The Australian Swim Team for 2014 BHP Billiton Aquatic Super Series is as follows:
MEN: Ashley Delaney, Thomas Fraser-Holmes, Jordan Harrison, Grant Irvine, Matson Lawson, Daniel Lester, James Magnussen, Cameron McEvoy, David McKeon, James Roberts, Christian Sprenger, Kenneth To, Daniel Tranter, Benjamin Treffers, Chris Wright
WOMEN: Jessica Ashwood, Bronte Barratt, Bronte Campbell, Cate Campbell, Alicia Coutts, Sally Foster, Ellen Gandy, Madeline Groves, Belinda Hocking, Emma McKeon, Taylor McKeown, Keryn McMaster, Kylie Palmer, Leiston Pickett, Emily Seebohm

VenuesWest Challenge Stadium – Outdoor Pool

Friday 31 January 2014

Swimming – Australia v Brazil, China, Japan & South Africa

Water Polo (Women) – Australia v China

Saturday 1 February 2014

Swimming – Australia v Brazil, China, Japan & South Africa

Water Polo (Men) – Australia v Croatia

Tickets On Sale Now at www.ticketmaster.com.au

For more information go to www.aquaticsuperseries.com.au

The above is a press release submitted by Swimming Australia.

Leave a Reply

Notify of

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments

About Braden Keith

Braden Keith

Braden Keith is the Editor-in-Chief and a co-founder/co-owner of SwimSwam.com. He first got his feet wet by building The Swimmers' Circle beginning in January 2010, and now comes to SwimSwam to use that experience and help build a new leader in the sport of swimming. Aside from his life on the InterWet, …

Read More »