Stolk and Kamminga Set Meet Records at Swim Cup The Hague Day 2


Day two of the 2018 Swim Cup The Hague in The Hague, Netherlands, featured finals for the men’s and women’s 400 free, 100 breast, 50 back, 400 IM, 200 fly, and 100 free.

Maarten Brzoskowski kicked off the day with a win in the men’s 400 free, going 3:56.08. In second was Thomas Thijs in 3:56.24, followed by William Ryley in 3:59.01. Serena Stel won the women’s race in 4:19.83, followed by Marij van der Mast in 4:21.33. In third was Laura Setz in 4:24.80.

Arno Kamminga set a meet record in the 100 breast, winning in 59.69. Ties Elzerman took second in 1:01.72, followed by Basten Caerts in 1:03.20. Tes Schouten topped the women’s race in 1:07.84, followed by Rosey Metz in 1:10.50 and Anne Palmans in 1:11.55.

In the men’s para 100 breast, SB9 swimmer Duncan van Haaren took first in 1:05.53, followed by SB14 swimmer Marc Evers in 1:08.49 and SB8 swimmer Tim van Duuren in 1:13.59. In the women’s race, SB9 swimmer Chantalle Zijderveld took first in 1:13.87, followed by SB9 swimmer Lisa Kruger in 1:15.81 and SB11 swimmer Liesette Bruinsma in 1:27.84.

Kenzo Simons won the men’s 50 back in 26.32, followed by Ensger Kotterink in 26.44. Sjobbe Luyten took third in 26.49. Kira Toussaint won the women’s race in 28.19, followed by Maaike de Waard in 28.46. Marieke Tienstra took third in 28.66.

Arjan Knipping won the men’s 400 IM in meet record fashion, winning in 4:19.09. Jacob Greenow followed in 4:22.99, and Jari Groenhart set a new Dutch junior record for third, going 4:24.96. On the women’s side, Lotte Hosper took first in 5:03.10. In second was Lisa Dreesens in 5:05.45, and Anne Noom took third in 5:15.13.

The men’s 200 fly went to Mathys Goosen in 2:01.81. In second was Floris Kotterink in 2:05.84 and Gerard Willighagen in 2:14.12. Kinge Zandringa set a new meet record in the women’s race, going 2:14.34. Femke Spiering took second in 2:19.25, and Nienke Jonk was third in 2:22.11.

Kyle Stolk set a new meet record in the men’s 100 free, winning in 49.21. Jesse Puts was second in 49.37, followed by Stan Pijnenburg in 49.81. Ranomi Kromowidjojo also dropped a meet record in the women’s race, going 53.69. Kim Busch took second in 55.34, followed by Robin Neumann in 55.53.

Michiel Jorink, and S14 swimmer, won the men’s para 100 free in 55.88. S6 swimmer Thijs van Hofweegen took second in 1:07.88, followed by S10 swimmer Bas Takken in 54.69. S11 swimmer Liesette Bruinsma won the women’s race in 1:08.34, followed by S10 swimmer Lisa Kruger in 1:01.25. S10 swimmer Chantalle Zijderveld took third in 1:02.56.

In This Story

Leave a Reply

Notify of

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments

About Torrey Hart

Torrey Hart

Torrey is from Oakland, CA, and majored in media studies and American studies at Claremont McKenna College, where she swam distance freestyle for the Claremont-Mudd-Scripps team. Outside of SwimSwam, she has bylines at Sports Illustrated, Yahoo Sports, SB Nation, and The Student Life newspaper.

Read More »