St. Bonaventure Men Announce 2017-18 Schedule

by SwimSwam 0

September 12th, 2017 College, NCAA Division I Mid-Major

Press Release courtesy of St. Bonaventure Athletics.

St. Bonaventure University men’s swimming and diving head coach Sean McNamee has released his schedule for the 2017-2018 season, featuring two home meets.

The Bonnies will host Canisius on Saturday, Nov. 11 and Binghamton on Saturday, Jan. 13to highlight their schedule. The 2018 Atlantic 10 Swimming and Diving Championships are scheduled for Wednesday, Feb. 14 through Saturday, Feb. 17 in Geneva, Ohio.

“Our schedule this year is different from our traditional schedule, with more invites than dual meets,” McNamee said. “Our main goal is to use the invites and duals as dress rehearsals to prepare through the season, and escalate our drive and focus for the championship meet.”

St. Bonaventure opens up its season on Friday, Oct.  6 and Saturday, Oct. 7 on the road participating at the Colgate Invitational.

Almost two weeks later, the Bonnies will travel to the University of Connecticut on Friday, Oct. 20, who is new to the schedule this season. The team will then travel to the Atlantic 10 Pod Meet on Saturday, Oct. 28 and Sunday, Oct. 29, where they will face off against conference opponents Saint Louis and La Salle.

The Bonnies start November with their home opener at the Reilly Center Pool when they take on Little Three rival Canisius. Coach McNamee and his team are then off until they travel to the AT&T Winter National Championships in Columbus, Ohio on Wednesday Nov. 29 and Thursday, Nov. 30.

The lone action the Bonnies will see in December is when they travel to the Akron Zippy Invite, which spans from Friday, Dec. 1 through Sunday, Dec. 3.

The Bonnies return to action after the holidays, when they host Binghamton at the Reilly Center Pool in their final home meet of the season. The regular season closes after two road trips on Friday, Jan. 19 when they travel to Cornell, and Saturday, Jan. 27 when they visit Niagara.

This will be McNamee’s 26th season as head coach of the Bonnies. The men’s swimming and diving team has won the Atlantic 10 Championship five times in program history, including three times in the last 11 years. This year’s team will look to rebound from a seventh place finish at last year’s A-10 Championships. The Bonnies have finished in the top three at the Atlantic 10 Championships 23 times during McNamee’s tenure.

Leave a Reply

Be the First to Comment!

wpDiscuz