SMU Women Announce 2017-18 Schedule

by SwimSwam 0

August 30th, 2017 AAC, College

The SMU women’s swimming and diving team returns to the Hilltop for the 2017-18 season, with the opening of the Robson & Lindley Aquatics Center and Barr-McMillion Natatorium. The Mustangs are slated to host six events in the new facility, including the opener on Nov. 3 versus LSU, and the 2018 American Athletic Conference Championships in February.

“We are excited to bring competitions back to the SMU campus,” Head Coach Steve Collins said. “This will give our swimmers and divers an opportunity to compete at home for the first time in the past three years. The American Conference Championships in February will be the first opportunity for SMU to host a Women’s Swimming and Diving Conference Championship in our history.”

In addition to LSU, SMU hosts Missouri, Texas A&M, North Texas and a pre-conference time trial event to close the regular season. Texas A&M (9th), Missouri (13th) and LSU (24th) all finished inside the top 25 of the final 2016-17 CSCAA poll, with the Aggies finishing third at the NCAA Division I Swimming and Diving Championships. Missouri and LSU were also represented at the Championships, finishing 13th and 34th, respectively. The Mustangs defeated UNT a season ago in Denton, and are 14-0 against the Mean Green dating back to the 1998-99 season.

SMU also hosts the annual SMU Classic Oct. 13 & 14 in Lewisville, Texas. The 24th edition of the event features four teams that finished inside the top 20 at last season’s NCAA Championships, led by top-10 finishers Louisville (6th) and USC (9th). Michigan finished just outside the top 10 at 11th, while UCLA was 20th and Miami tied for 39th.

The SMU Classic features eight swimmers and one diver from each competing school. Swimmers may swim 3 events per day, one of which must be a relay. Each team will enter one swimmer per heat (Consolation & Championship), while relays will only have a Championship heat. Diving events will consist of 6 optional dives on 1m and 3m boards.

The Mustangs take to the road with dual meets against Arkansas in Fayetteville, Tulane in New Orleans and Houston and Rice in Houston.

Championship season begins Feb. 14 with the four-day AAC Championships held in Dallas for the first time, and continues with the NCAA Division I Swimming and Diving Championships March 14-17 in Columbus, Ohio. NCAA Zone Diving will take place March 5-7 in Minneapolis, Minn.

Admission for swimming and diving events at the Robson & Lindley Aquatics Center is free. The facility is located at 5550 SMU Boulevard.

2017-18 Women’s Swimming and Diving Schedule

Sept. 16 at Arkansas Fayetteville, Arkansas
Sept. 29 UNT Relays Lewisville, Texas
Oct. 6 at Tulane New Orleans, La.
Oct. 13 & 14 SMU Classic Lewisville, Texas
Oct. 20 at Houston Houston, Texas
Oct. 21 at Rice Houston, Texas
Nov. 3                                          LSU Dallas
Nov. 16-18 Texas A&M Invite College Station, Texas
Jan. 3-5 Tennessee Diving Invite Knoxville, Tenn.
Jan. 5 Missouri Dallas
Jan. 10 Texas A&M Dallas
Jan. 12-14 Arena Pro Swim Series Austin, Texas
Feb. 2   North Texas Dallas
Feb. 3 Pre-Conference Time Trial Dallas
Feb. 14-17 American Championships Dallas
March 5-7 NCAA Zone Diving Minneapolis, Minn.
March 14-17 NCAA Championships Columbus, Ohio
April 12-14 Arena Pro Swim Series Mesa, Ariz.

Press Release courtesy of SMU Athletics.

Leave a Reply

Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments