SMU Earns AAC Team Academic Excellence Award Winners

The SMU men’s and women’s swimming and diving programs have earned the inaugural Team Academic Excellence Award for their respective sport, American Athletic Conference officials announced on Wednesday.

Each conference sport honors one team based on the grade-point average of each student-athlete who appeared on an institution’s roster as of the last contest of that sport’s championship segment.

On July 11, both teams also earned College Swimming Coaches Association of America Scholar All-America honors, posting a 3.40 team GPA on the women’s side and 3.25 on the men’s side. As individuals, 10 student-athletes were named CSCAA Academic All-Americans.

Nina Rangelova highlighted the selections on the women’s side as a first-team honoree, while Isabella Arcila, Ursa Bezan and Nathalie Lindborg earned honorable mention accolades.

On the men’s side, six were recognized as honorable mention selections for their work in the classroom including Nicolai Hansen, Bryce Klein, Ryan Koops, Tyler Rauth, Matt Roney and Tucker Wells.

Swimming News courtesy of SMU Swimming and Diving.

Leave a Reply

Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments

About Gold Medal Mel Stewart

Gold Medal Mel Stewart

MEL STEWART Jr., aka Gold Medal Mel, won three Olympic medals at the 1992 Olympic Games. Mel's best event was the 200 butterfly. He is a former World, American, and NCAA Record holder in the 200 butterfly. As a writer/producer and sports columnist, Mel has contributed to Yahoo Sports, Universal Sports, …

Read More »