Race Video: Conor Dwyer wins 200 Free at the 2014 Arena Grand Prix in Charlotte

Race video is courtesy of Universal Sports Network, a SwimSwam partner.

MEN’S 200 Freestyle – Reported by SwimSwam – 2014 Arena Grand Prix

In a Michael Phelps-less field, Conor Dwyer seized the opportunity to lead from lane 4, and man did he make a statement. The race belonged to Dwyer right from the start and he never backed down, swimming to the win with a time of 1:47.86. His teammate Matt McLean was a second behind with a strong 1:48.73, good for second place. Anders Lie Nielsen was the last man under 1:50, grabbing third with a 1:49.88. Tyler Clary, whose main event is later tonight in the IM, swam to a fourth place finish with a time of 1:50.44 while distance specialist Connor Jaeger swam to fifth with a 1:50.92. Three members of Club Wolverine rounded out the A final: Dylan Bosch (1:51.23), Michael Wynalda (1:51.51), and Michael Klueh (1:51.63).

In This Story

Leave a Reply

Notify of

1 Comment
oldest most voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
8 years ago

Great race for Dwyer. Does anyone else think his right hand might be entering the water too much in front of his head? On the TV broadcast it almost looked as if he was pushing water in front of him with every hand entry.

About Gold Medal Mel Stewart

Gold Medal Mel Stewart

MEL STEWART Jr., aka Gold Medal Mel, won three Olympic medals at the 1992 Olympic Games. Mel's best event was the 200 butterfly. He is a former World, American, and NCAA Record holder in the 200 butterfly. As a writer/producer and sports columnist, Mel has contributed to Yahoo Sports, Universal Sports, …

Read More »