Pernille Blume & Jeanette Ottesen Pave Way For Danish Swimmers In Glasgow


With the conclusion of the 2019 Danish Open Short Course Championships comes the naming of the nation’s roster for this year’s European Short Course Championships.

Leading the way are Olympians Pernille Blume and Jeanette Ottesen, both of whom did not compete over the weekend, but qualified for the squad via swims at other competitions.

At the 2017 edition of the European Short Course Championships, which took place on their home soil in Copenhagen, Blume came away with 2 individual bronze medals. She finished behind Sweden’s Sarah Sjostrom and the Netherlands’ Ranomi Kromowidjojo in the 50m free and touched behind the pair again, although with Kromo on top of the podium, in the 100m free.

Ottesen did not compete in 2017 due to her being pregnant with her first child to which she gave birth later that year. She has only just returned to competition in March of this year but already competed for Denmark in Gwangju, Korea at this year’s long course World Championships.

Emilie Beckmann was another Danish medalist from 2017 named to this year’s roster, with the 22-year-old having taken 50m fly silver and 100m fly bronze last time around.

The other Danish individual medalist from Copenhagen came in the form of Rikke Møller Pedersen and her silver medal-worthy performance in the women’s 200m breast. Pedersen has since retired, however, making her formal announcement in January of this year.

Headed to Glasgow are top performers from this past weekend’s national meet, Helena Rosendahl Bach, Julie Jensen, Mathias Zander Rysgaard, Rasmus Nickelsen and Tobias Bjerg. Both Nickelsen and Bjerg notched Danish national records, the former a junior and the latter a senior, which you can read more about in the recaps linked above.

Of note, the Danish Swimming Federation says that Mie Nielsen has decided not to compete in Glasgow.

Denmark’s team for the Short Course European Championships:

Pernille Blume, Sigma Swim Birkerød

Jeanette Ottesen, Farum Svømmeklub

Caroline Erichsen, Sigma Swim Birkerød

Clara Rybak-Andersen, Gentofte Svømmeklub

Emilie Beckmann, Tune IF / GTI / NTC

Emily Gantriis, Helsinge Svømmeklub / NTC

Helena Rosendahl Bach, Holstebro SvømmeClub

Josefine B. Pedersen, MK31/VAT-Copenhagen

Julie Kepp Jensen, A6 / NTC

Matilde Schrøder, Berns Swim Team / NTC

Maria Grandt, Hovedstadens Svømmeklub

Signe Bro, Triton Ballerup / NTC

Thea Blomsterberg, Sigma Swim Birkerød

Victoria Bierre, Herlev Svømning / NTC

Alexander Aslak Nørgaard, Sigma Swim Birkerød

Marcus Krøyer Svendsen, Kvik Kastrup / NTC

Mathias Zander Rysgaard, Hørsholm Svømmeforening / NTC

Rasmus Nickelsen, Herlev Svømning / NTC

Tobias B. Bjerg, AGF / NTC

Regitze Gaarde, Kvik Kastrup

Mikkel Gadegaard, Esbjerg Svømmeklub

Oskar Lindholm, Aarhus Swim

Andreas Hansen, Vejle Svømmeklub

In This Story

Leave a Reply

Notify of
1 Comment
newest most voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Sun's Syringe
1 year ago

No Anton Ipsen?

About Retta Race

Retta Race

After 16 years at a Fortune 1000 financial company, long-time swimmer Retta Race decided to change lanes and pursue her sporting passion. She currently is Coach for the Northern KY Swordfish Masters, a team she started up in December 2013, while also offering private coaching. Retta is also an MBA …

Read More »