NCAA Announces Hosts for 2019-2022 NCAA Men’s Swimming Championships

The NCAA has released a new round of NCAA site selections, which includes the Division I men’s hosting duties for 2019-2022. After being hosted in Minneapolis next year, as previously announced, the NCAA will take the event to Austin and the University of Texas in 2019, back to Indianapolis and the IUPUI Natatorium in 2020, Iowa City in 2021, and Georgia Tech in 2022.

Next 5 NCAA Men’s Division I Hosting Sites

  • March 22-24, 2018, Minneapolis, Minnesota – University of Minnesota (1,346 permanent seats, 1,200 temporary bleachers)
  • March 27-30, 2019, Austin, Texas – University of Texas (2,100 grandstand seating, 500 portable bleachers on deck)
  • March 25-28, 2020, Indianapolis, Indiana – IU Natatorium (4,700 seating capacity, reduced for NCAA Championships)
  • March 24-27, 2021, Iowa City, Iowa – University of Iowa (seating for 1,200 spectators)
  • March 23-26, 2022, Atlanta, Georgia – Georgia Tech (seating for 1,900 spectators)

The NCAA has fallen into a pretty consistent pattern of hosting sites for swimming. Austin last hosted the men’s meet in 2014. Indianapolis hosted the men’s and women’s meets in 2017, Iowa City last hosted men’s in 2015, and Georgia Tech last hosted in 2016.

Unlike recent history, however, the NCAA has shied away from hosting a men’s and women’s meets back-to-back at IUPUI. The 2019 meets in Austin will be hosted back-to-back, as will 2022 in Atlanta, Georgia.

The Texas Swimming Center in Austin has hosted the men’s Division I championship meet 7 times in its history (1981, 1985, 1987, 1991, 1996, 2003, 2014), as has Minnesota’s University Aquatic Center (1994, 1997, 2000, 2005, 2007, 2011, 2018). Minneapolis hosted one other time, in the University of Minnesota Armory in 1937. IUPUI leads all pools having hosted the meet 11 times (1983, 1986, 1989, 1992, 1993, 1995, 1999, 2013, 2017). 2022 will be Georgia Tech’s 3rd time hosting (2006, 2016).

The new Iowa pool has only hosted one other time, as mentioned, but Iowa City did host the 1927 championships in the legendary Field House Pool in 1927 – the 4th unofficial NCAA championship meet.


Leave a Reply

7 Comment threads
11 Thread replies
Most reacted comment
Hottest comment thread
17 Comment authors
newest oldest most voted

People forget that the Texas pool is still empty


I am pretty sure they can fill it in two years


They might be able to get it fixed by 2019.


they have two years to fill it up!

Jeff Olsen

If not, the diving well’s available.


Minneapolis hosted the men & women in 2007.


Argh, Iowa City again?

About Braden Keith

Braden Keith

Braden Keith is the Editor-in-Chief and a co-founder of He first got his feet wet by building The Swimmers' Circle beginning in January 2010, and now comes to SwimSwam to use that experience and help build a new leader in the sport of swimming. Aside from his life on the InterWet, …

Read More »

Don't want to miss anything?

Subscribe to our newsletter and receive our latest updates!