All The Links You Need For the 2016 European Junior Championships

2016 European Junior Championships

The European Junior Championships begin Wednesday morning in Hungary, launching five days of competition for some of the continent’s top young athletes.

The event is typically for girls ages 15-16 and boys ages 17-18, but this year will expand and include girls ages 14-17 and boys ages 15-18 (with each athlete’s age calculated as of December 31 of this year). It takes place yearly, though last year’s event took place as the swimming portion of the European Games in Baku, Azerbaijan. Russia set 4 Junior World Records in Baku en route to a runaway win in the medal tables with 23 golds and 42 total medals.

Start Times Around the World

Time Zone Prelims Finals See also:
Local Time UTC+2 10:00 AM 5:30 PM
Sydney, Australia UTC+10 5:30 PM 1:30 AM (next day)
Tokyo, Japan UTC+9 4:30 PM 12:30 AM (next day)
Singapore UTC+8 3:30 PM 11:30 PM Beijing, China; W. Australia
Kolkata, India UTC+5:30 1:00 PM 9:00 PM
Kazan, Russia UTC+3 10:30 AM 6:30 PM Athens, Greece
Paris, France UTC+2 9:30 AM 5:30 PM South Africa, Hungary, Germany
London, England UTC+1 8:30 AM 4:30 PM
Rio de Janeiro, Brazil UTC-3 4:30 AM 12:30 PM
US Eastern Time UTC-4 3:30 AM 11:30 AM Toronto, Canada
US Pacific Time UTC-7 12:30 AM 8:30 AM Vancouver, Canada
US Alaska Time UTC-9 10:30 PM (night before) 6:30 AM
US Hawaii Time UTC-10 9:30 PM (night before) 5:30 AM

Event Schedule

Wednesday, July 6:

Women’s 50m Breaststroke heats
Men’s 50m Butterfly heats
Women’s 100m Freestyle heats
Men’s 400m Freestyle heats
Women’s 200m Butterfly heats
Men’s 100m Backstroke heats
Women’s 400m Individual Medley heats
Men’s 200m Breaststroke heats
Women’s 200m Backstroke heats
Men’s 4 x 100m Freestyle Relay heats
Women’s 4 x 100m Freestyle Relay heats
Women’s 800m Freestyle – Slow heats

Women’s 50m Breaststroke Semi-final
Men’s 50m Butterfly Semi-final
Women’s 400m Individual Medley Final
Men’s 200m Breaststroke Semi-final
Women’s 200m Butterfly Semi-final
Women’s 400m Individual Medley Medal Ceremony
Men’s 400m Freestyle Final
Women’s 100m Freestyle Semi-final
Men’s 100m Backstroke Semi-final
Men’s 400m Freestyle Medal Ceremony
Women’s 200m Backstroke Semi-final
Men’s 50m Butterfly Final
Women’s 50m Breaststroke Final
Women’s 800m Freestyle Fastest heat
Men’s 50m Butterfly Medal Ceremony
Women’s 50m Breaststroke Medal Ceremony
Men’s 4 x 100m Freestyle Relay Final
Women’s 4 x 100m Freestyle Relay Final
Women’s 800m Freestyle Medal Ceremony
Men’s 4 x 100m Freestyle Relay Medal Ceremony
Women’s 4 x 100m Freestyle Relay Medal Ceremony

Thursday, July 7:

Men’s 100m Freestyle heats
Women’s 400m Freestyle heats
Men’s 200m Butterfly heats
Women’s 200m Breaststroke heats
Men’s 200m Individual Medley heats
Mixed 4 x 100m Freestyle Relay heats
Men’s 1500m Freestyle Slow heats

Men’s 100m Backstroke Final
Women’s 400m Freestyle Final
Men’s 100m Freestyle Semi-final
Men’s 100m Backstroke Medal Ceremony
Women’s 200m Butterfly Final
Men’s 200m Individual Medley Semi-final
Women’s 400m Freestyle Medal Ceremony
Women’s 100m Freestyle Final
Men’s 200m Breaststroke Final
Women’s 200m Butterfly Medal Ceremony
Women’s 200m Backstroke Final
Men’s 200m Butterfly Semi-final
Women’s 100m Freestyle Medal Ceremony
Women’s 200m Breaststroke Semi-final
Men’s 1500m Freestyle Fastest heat
Men’s 200m Breaststroke Medal Ceremony
Women’s 200m Backstroke Medal Ceremony
Mixed 4 x 100m Freestyle Relay Final
Men’s 1500m Freestyle Medal Ceremony
Mixed 4 x 100m Freestyle Relay Medal Ceremony

Friday, July 8:

Women’s 50m Backstroke heats
Men’s 50m Breaststroke heats
Women’s 200m Freestyle heats
Men’s 200m Backstroke heats
Women’s 100m Butterfly heats
Men’s 4 x 200m Freestyle Relay heats
Women’s 4 x 100m Medley Relay heats
Women’s 1500m Freestyle Slow heats

Men’s 50m Breaststroke Semi-final heats
Women’s 50m Backstroke Semi-final heats
Men’s 200m Butterfly Final
Women’s 200m Freestyle Semi-final heats
Men’s 200m Backstroke Semi-final heats
Men’s 200m Butterfly Medal Ceremony
Women’s 200m Breaststroke Final
Men’s 100m Freestyle Final
Women’s 100m Butterfly Semi-final heats
Women’s 200m Breaststroke Medal Ceremony
Men’s 200m Individual Medley Final
Men’s 100m Freestyle Medal Ceremony
Women’s 50m Backstroke Final
Men’s 50m Breaststroke Final
Men’s 200m Individual Medley Medal Ceremony
Women’s 1500m Freestyle Fastest heat
Women’s 50m Backstroke Medal Ceremony
Men’s 50m Breaststroke Medal Ceremony
Men’s 4 x 200m Freestyle Relay Final
Women’s 4 x 100m Medley Relay Final
Women’s 1500m Freestyle Medal Ceremony
Men’s 4 x 200m Freestyle Relay Medal Ceremony
Women’s 4 x 100m Medley Relay Medal Ceremony

Saturday, July 9:

Women’s 50m Freestyle heats
Men’s 50m Backstroke heats
Women’s 100m Backstroke heats
Men’s 200m Freestyle heats
Women’s 200m Individual Medley heats
Men’s 100m Butterfly heats
Women’s 100m Breaststroke heats
Men’s 100m Breaststroke heats
Mixed 4 x 100m Medley Relay heats
Men’s 800m Freestyle slow heats

Women’s 50m Freestyle Semi-final
Men’s 50m Backstroke Semi-final
Women’s 100m Backstroke Semi-final
Men’s 100m Butterfly Semi-final
Women’s 200m Individual Medley Semi-final
Men’s 200m Freestyle Semi-final
Women’s 100m Breaststroke Semi-final
Men’s 200m Backstroke Final
Women’s 200m Freestyle Final
Men’s 100m Breaststroke Semi-final
Men’s 200m Backstroke Medal Ceremony
Women’s 100m Butterfly Final
Women’s 200m Freestyle Medal Ceremony
Men’s 800m Freestyle Fastest heat
Women’s 100m Butterfly Medal Ceremony
Women’s 50m Freestyle Final
Men’s 50m Backstroke Final
Men’s 800m Freestyle Medal Ceremony
Mixed 4 x 100m Medley Relay Final
Women’s 50m Freestyle Medal Ceremony
Men’s 50m Backstroke Medal Ceremony
Mixed 4 x 100m Medley Relay Medal Ceremony

Sunday, July 10:

Men’s 50m Freestyle heats
Women’s 50m Butterfly heats
Men’s 400m Individual Medley heats
Women’s 4 x 200m Freestyle Relay heats
Men’s 4 x 100m Medley Relay heats

Men’s 50m Freestyle Semi-final heats
Women’s 50m Butterfly Semi-final heats
Men’s 400m Individual Medley Final
Women’s 100m Backstroke Final
Men’s 100m Breaststroke Final
Men’s 400m Individual Medley Medal Ceremony
Women’s 100m Breaststroke Final
Women’s 100m Backstroke Medal Ceremony
Men’s 200m Freestyle Final
Women’s 200m Individual Medley Final
Men’s 100m Breaststroke Medal Ceremony
Women’s 100m Breaststroke Medal Ceremony
Men’s 100m Butterfly Final
Men’s 200m Freestyle Medal Ceremony
Women’s 50m Butterfly Final
Men’s 50m Freestyle Final
Women’s 200m Individual Medley Medal Ceremony
Men’s 100m Butterfly Medal Ceremony
Women’s 4 x 200m Freestyle Relay Final
Women’s 50m Butterfly Medal Ceremony
Men’s 50m Freestyle Medal Ceremony
Men’s 4 x 100m Medley Relay Final
Women’s 4 x 200m Freestyle Relay Medal Ceremony
Men’s 4 x 100m Medley Relay Medal Ceremony

1
Leave a Reply

Subscribe
Notify of
1 Comment
oldest
newest most voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
peacepacer
5 years ago

Actually LEN modified the rules to bring it closer to FINA’s regulations of junior swimming. So they expanded the age limits for swimmers. From this year on girls ages 14-17 and boys 15-18 are allowed to compeate at the European Junior Championships.

About Jared Anderson

Jared Anderson

Jared Anderson swam for nearly twenty years. Then, Jared Anderson stopped swimming and started writing about swimming. He's not sick of swimming yet. Swimming might be sick of him, though. Jared was a YMCA and high school swimmer in northern Minnesota, and spent his college years swimming breaststroke and occasionally pretending …

Read More »