Larkin Collects Two Gold on the Second Night of the Victorian Championships

After finishing second in the 50 backstroke on the first night of the Victorian Open Championships Mitch Larkin return to the pool on Saturday not settling for anything less than the best.

The Commonwealth Games 200 backstroke gold medalist started the second night of competition off winning the men’s 200 IM in a time of 2:01.34. He then returned to the water in the 200 backstroke winning the event in a time of 1:59.03.

In the 200 backstroke Larkin was pushed by Commonwealth Games silver medalist Josh Beaver who made a strong push in the final 50 meters hitting the wall in a time of 1:59.23. Ashley Delaney finished third in a time of 2:00.28.

Kenneth To, who is having a strong meet after a layoff due to surgery, finished second to Larkin in the 200 IM posting a 2:02.27. He was followed by Justin James who finished in a time of 2:02.34.

Cate Campbell once again showed that she is back in shape and ready to race winning the women’s 50 freestyle in a time of 24.62. Bronte Campbell finished second in a time of 24.99 followed by Brittany Elmslie who recorded a 25.20.

Commonwealth Games and Pan Pacific Championships silver medalist Mack Horton cruised to a victory in the men’s 800 freestyle posting a time of 8:20.51. He was followed by two 16 year olds. Daniel McConnell touched in a time of 8:44.94 and Adam Wildes who finished in a time of 8:49.67.

Bronte Barratt took the women’s 400 freestyle in a time of 4:09.36 winning the event easily, finishing almost four seconds ahead of teammate Katie Goldman who touched in a time of 4:13.29. Kotuku Ngawati finished third in a time of 4:17.08.

Ben Treffers, who won the 50 backstroke at the Commonwealth Games, took the men’s 50 butterfly in a time of 24.26. He was followed closely by Jayden Hadler who touched in a time of 24.38 and Mitchell Patterson who finished in a time of 24.42.

Commonwealth Games 200 butterfly bronze medalist Madeline Groves won the women’s 100 butterfly in a time of 58.47. Her time is just a touch faster than the 58.66 which she posted at this meet a year ago. Commonwealth Games 50 butterfly bronze medalist Brittany Elmslie finished second in a time of 58.94 followed by Jessica Hobbin who touched in a time of 1:00.21.

Madison Wilson won the women’s 100 backstroke in a time of 1:00.35 followed by Hayely Baker who recorded a 1:01.95. Sian Whittaker finished third in a time of 1:03.61.

Kurt Herzog took the men’s 200 freestyle in a time of 1:48.16 finishing ahead of James Magnussen who won the 100 freestyle on the first night of competition. Magnussen finished in a time of 1:49.75 followed by Kenneth To who posted a 1:51.98.

Jessica Hansen won the women’s 200 breaststroke in a time of 2:30.78. She was followed by Jenna Strauch who posted a 2:32.52 followed by Emma Harris who recorded a 2:34.03.

Matt Treloar took the men’s 100 breaststroke in a time of 1:01.83. Shawn Abbott finished second in a time of 1:03.23 followed by Trent Abbott who recorded a 1:03.80.

Full meet results can be found here.

In This Story

Leave a Reply

Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments

About Jeff Grace

Jeff Grace

Jeff is a 500 hour registered yoga teacher who holds diplomas in Coaching (Douglas College) and High Performance Coaching (National Coaching Institute - Calgary). He has a background of over 20 years in the coaching profession, where he has used a unique and proven teaching methodology to help many achieve their …

Read More »