King, Ledecky, Manuel, and Baker Nominated for 2017 Honda Sports Award

The Collegiate Women Sports Awards have nominated 4 swimmers for the Honda Sports Award for Swimming & Diving, representing the best collegiate athletes in the country.

The Honda Sport Award has been presented annually by the CWSA for the past 40 years to the top women athletes in 12 NCAA- sanctioned sports and signifies “the best of the best in collegiate athletics”.  The winner of the sport award becomes a finalist for the Collegiate Woman Athlete of the Year and the prestigious 2016 Honda Cup which will be presented on a live telecast on June 27, 2016, in the Founders’ Room at the Galen Center on the campus of the University of Southern California in downtown Los, Angeles. The winner is decided after voting by administrators from each of the more than 1000 NCAA member institutions.

2017 Nominees:

  • Lilly King, Indiana
  • Katie Ledecky, Stanford
  • Simone Manuel, Stanford
  • Kathleen Baker, Cal

King repeated as the NCAA Champion in both the 100 and 200 yard breaststrokes in Indianapolis, and set the American, NCAA, and U.S. Open Records in the 200 breaststroke in 2:03.18. The dual Olympic gold medalist now has 4 NCAA titles and 8 All-American awards to her name.

Ledecky, the most anticipated collegiate swimming recruit of her generation (if not longer) won 3 individual NCAA titles as just a freshman: the 500 free, the 1650 free, and the 200 free, which was a tie between her and Louisville’s Mallory Comerford. She broke the NCAA Record in the 1650 free, swam the fastest time in history in the 500 free, and was a part of American and NCAA Record setting 400 and 800 free relays.

Manuel, a Stanford redshirt junior, was the 2017 Pac-12 Swimmer of the Year and won 4 NCAA titles: the 50 and 100 free individually, plus the same record-setting 400 and 800 free relays as Ledecky. After sitting out last season, like Ledecky, to focus on Olympic preparation, she returned to the NCAA better-than-ever and became the first woman under 46 seconds in the 100 yard freestyle.

Baker, another 2016 U.S. Olympian, won the CSCAA’s Swimmer of the Year award. She was the only triple individual titlist at NCAAs who didn’t have a tie for one of her finishes, winning the 100 back, 200 back, and 200 IM.

Three of the four swimmers (Ledecky, Manuel, and Baker) are not only from Pac-12 teams, but they’re from rival teams both in the northern California Bay Area. Incidentally, though, all four swimmers are from the Eastern half of the United States: Manuel is from a suburb of Houston, Baker is from Charlotte, King is an Indiana native, and Ledecky grew up in the Washington D.C. area.

King was also nominated for this award last season, though Louisville’s Kelsi Worrell ultimately won it.

All past Honda Sports Award Winners:

2015-16 Kelsi Worrell, University of Louisville
2014-15 Missy Franklin, University of California
2013-14 Felicia Lee, Stanford University
2012-13 Allison Schmitt, University of Georgia
2011-12 Caitlin Leverenz, University of California
2010-11 Katinka Hosszu, University of Southern California
2009-10 Julia Smit, Stanford University
2008-09 Dana Vollmer, University of California
2007-08 Caroline Burckle, University of Florida
2006-07 Kara Lynn Joyce, University of Georgia
2005-06 Mary DeScenza, University of Georgia
2004-05 Kirsty Coventry, Auburn University
2003-04 Tara Kirk, Stanford University
2002-03 Natalie Coughlin, University of California
2001-02 Natalie Coughlin, University of California
2000-01 Misty Hyman, Stanford University
1999-00 Cristina Teuscher, Columbia University
1998-99 Martina Moravcova, Southern Methodist University
1997-98 Misty Hyman, Stanford University
1996-97 Kristine Quance, University of Southern California
1995-96 Kristine Quance, University of Southern California
1994-95 Jenny Thompson, Stanford University
1993-94 Nicole Haislette, University of Florida
1992-93 Janel Jorgensen, Stanford University
1991-92 Summer Sanders, Stanford University
1990-91 Leigh Ann Fetter, University of Texas
1989-90 Janet Evans, Stanford University
1988-89 Jenna Johnson, Stanford University
1987-88 Betsy Mitchell, University of Texas
1986-87 Mary T. Meagher, University of California
1985-86 Jenna Johnson, Stanford University
1984-85 Mary T. Meagher, University of California
1983-84 Tracy Caulkins, University of Florida
1982-83 Tracy Caulkins, University of Florida
1981-82 Tracy Caulkins, University of Florida
1980-81 Jill Sterkel, University of Texas
1979-80 Jill Sterkel, University of Texas
1978-79 Joan Pennington, University of Texas
1977-78 Renee Laravie, University of Florida
1976-77 Melissa Belote, Arizona State University



In This Story

Leave a Reply

4 Comment threads
0 Thread replies
Most reacted comment
Hottest comment thread
4 Comment authors
newest oldest most voted

I don’t believe King represents “the best of the best” for the NCAA as a new entire package. No doubt of her dominance in the actual swimming portion, but as far as representing the sport in a positive and progressive way, all other nominees are more suited.


presented on a live telecast on June 27, 2016….. maybe S/B June 27, 2017


Please NOT Lilly

About Braden Keith

Braden Keith

Braden Keith is the Editor-in-Chief and a co-founder of He first got his feet wet by building The Swimmers' Circle beginning in January 2010, and now comes to SwimSwam to use that experience and help build a new leader in the sport of swimming. Aside from his life on the InterWet, …

Read More »

Want to take your swimfandom to the next level?

Subscribe to SwimSwam Magazine!