Kentucky’s Brown, Seidt Nominees For McWhorter Award

by SwimSwam 0

May 05th, 2020 College, SEC

Courtesy: Kentucky Athletics

BIRMINGHAM, Ala. – Glen Brown of the Kentucky men’s swimming & diving team and Asia Seidt of the Wildcat women’s swimming and diving team have been nominated for the H. Boyd McWhorter Scholar-Athlete Post-Graduate Scholarship by the University of Kentucky.
The H. Boyd McWhorter Scholar-Athlete Post-Graduate Scholarship has been presented by the Southeastern Conference since 1986 to the league’s top male and female scholar-athletes.
The Southeastern Conference will name the 2020 recipients of the H. Boyd McWhorter Scholar-Athlete Post-Graduate Scholarship in late May.

“Asia is a true representative of what it means to be a student-athlete,” head coach Lars Jorgensen said. “She has accomplished so much in her career, both in the class and in the pool, and she will graduate as the most decorated athlete in program history.

“Glen steps up in all that he does, not just in our program, but in school and in his leadership roles. He represents the student-athlete body at Kentucky so well, and he has gained a tremendous amount of respect across the conference.”

Highlights of Kentucky’s nominees include:

Glen Brown
Major: Accounting

  • Three-time All-American
  • 2019, 2020 NCAA qualifier
  • 2020 U.S. Olympic Trials qualifier
  • UK Student-Athlete Advisory Committee President as a senior, Vice-President as a junior
  • Named “Mr. Wildcat” at the 2020 CATSPY Awards
  • 2020 NCAA Leadership Summit selection by the Southeastern Conference
  • 2019 SEC Career Tour participant
  • Four-year SEC Academic Honor Roll
  • 2019 SEC Community Service Team
  • 2019 CSCAA Scholar All-America First Team
  • Intern with UK Athletics Business Office
  • UK Athletics Society of Character, has volunteered over 100 hours to community service, including The Humane Society, God’s Pantry and Salvation Army

Asia Seidt
Major: Kinesiology

  • 21-time All-American, most in program history
  • Four-year NCAA Championships qualifier and recipient of NCAA Elite 90 Award
  • 2019 gold medalist at Phillips 66 National Championships in 200 backstroke and silver medalist in 400 medley relay
  • 2019 silver medalist at World University Games (Team USA) in 200 backstroke
  • 2019 Arthur Ashe Female Sports Scholar of the Year
  • Four-time SEC gold medalist, 2017-19 in 200 backstroke and 2018 in 100 backstroke
  • Three-year All-SEC First Team
  • 2019 SEC Swimming and Diving Scholar-Athlete of the Year
  • Named “Miss Wildcat” at the 2019 and 2020 CATSPY Awards
  • CoSIDA Academic All-America, First Team 2019, Third Team 2018
  • Four-year SEC Academic Honor Roll
  • 2017, 2018, 2019 CSCAA Scholar All-America First Team
  • UK Athletics Society of Character, volunteered over 200 hours to community service, including The Hope Center, Kentucky Aquatics and Big Brothers Big Sisters of the Bluegrass

The SEC provides the league’s male and female McWhorter Scholar-Athlete of the Year Post-Graduate Scholarship recipients with a $20,000 post-graduate scholarship. The 26 remaining male and female finalists for the award will also receive a $10,000 post-graduate scholarship.

The award recipients are chosen by a committee of Faculty Athletics Representatives from the 14 SEC institutions and are announced in May. Last year’s McWhorter Award recipients were Texas A&M track and field member Nathan Hite and Vanderbilt bowler Kristin Quah.

In This Story

Leave a Reply

Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments