Holmquist Wins Three as Gophers Sweep at North Dakota.

The Minnesota Golden Gophers visited the University of North Dakota today, winning the women’s meet 195-103 and the men’s 193-103.

Full results are at this link.

In the women’s meet, Minnesota fielded the winning time in all but two events, led by four multiple event winners. Katelyn Holmquist was the only triple winner, taking the 100 back (56.66,) 200 back (2:03.36,) and 200 IM (2:07.33.)

Abigail Raatz took both sprint wins for the Gophers. She won the 100 free handily in 51.21, but barely squeaked out the win for the 50, touching in 23.89 over UND’s Courtney Funk at 23.92.

Minnesota’s Miriam Khamis took both diving events, with scores of 285.30 for the 1-meter and 303.68 for the 3-meter. Kaia Grobe was the Gophers fourth double winner with her 1:52.72 for the 200 free and 56.00 for the 100 fly.

North Dakota won two events in a row, with Steph Frey winning the 100 breast in 1:04.02 and Marlena Pigliacampi taking the 200 fly in 2:04.38.

The mens’ meet had only two double winners, and both of them were Gophers. Dylan Zoe swept both the 1-meter (341.70) and 3-meter (370.58) diving events, and Nick Orf won both butterfly distances. Orf’s fly times were 50.39 for the 100 and 1:50.32 for the 200.

North Dakota managed to win three events, and one of them was a 1-2 finish. The 100 free featured Colin MacQuarrie and Cal Mouritzen owning the 100 free at 46.72 and 46.80 respectively. MacQuarrie also finished just shy of the win in the 50 free with his 21.01, getting squeaked out of the top points and potential double-winning night by Minnesota’s Hunter Doerr who finished in 20.99.

The other two UND winners were Jacob Wielinski at 9:28.95 in the 100 free, and Sam Marlow who finished the 200 back in 1:53.19.

Leave a Reply

Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments