Freeman Scholarship Winners Announced

Tuesday, March 28th, The College Swimming Coaches Association of America (CSCAA) announced the recipients of the 2017 Jean Freeman Scholarship.

According to, “The Jean Freeman Scholarship is given each year to six assistant coaches whose exceptional contributions have brought recognition to their college or university, and whose leadership, integrity, honesty, competitive attitude and personal graciousness epitomizes those characteristics reflected by Jean Freeman”.

The scholarship provides each of the six selected coaches the right to the annual CSCAA Convention and Clinic as well as the CSCAA Coach Academy with free transportation and lodging.

The recipients are selected by a committee made up of the members of The Summit for Empowering members in which Jean was a founder of.

The recipients for the 2017 Jean Freeman Scholarship:

  • Morgan Cooper, Smith College
  • Jerry Cummiskey, Bryant University
  • David Dow, Williams
  • Lisa Ginder, Fordham University
  • Rebecca Weiland, St. Cloud State University
  • Paulina Ziolek, University of Texas


Leave a Reply

About Olivia McLain

Olivia McLain

My name is Olivia McLain and I was born and raised in Kansas City, Missouri.  I am currently a junior at the University of Nebraska at Omaha, where I am also on the UNO Women's Swim Team. I specialize in the 100 butterfly, 100 freestyle, and now that its allowed …

Read More »