Five State Records Set at Alaska HS Championship




  • Dimond 95
  • Juneau-Douglas 82.5
  • Sitka 68.5


  • Kodiak 105
  • Dimond 86
  • Thunder Mountain 62

The girls from Dimond High School repeated as ASAA State Champions at the 2016 Alaska High School Championships, but the Dimond boys were not able hold back Kodiak High School to complete the repeat sweep.  Kodiak ended a streak by the Dimond boys that started in 2009, led by Talon Lindquist who won both the 200 freestyle and 100 backstroke in State Record time for the Bears.

Lindquist became the first Alaskan to dip below the 1:40 barrier in the 200 free with his 1:39.78, erasing the 1:40.58 mark set by Juneau’s Cody Brunette in 2008.  Lindquist also lowered his own 2014 mark in the 100 backstroke from 51.89 to 49.50.

The Dimond team of Reed Dittlinger, Nathan Alfano, Christopher Chung and Maximus Addington combined to break ASAA Records in both the 200 and 400 freestyle relays with their 1:26.31 and 3:09.05 finishes in those events respectively.  Both records were previously owned by the Dimond team from 1998.  Those were not the oldest records set though, as Wasilla’s Brayden Schachle and his score of 539.35 took down the one-meter diving mark set in 1982 by Allen Spencer from Chugiak.

There were five more double event winners in the meet.  On the girls side, Mia Ruffin from JDHS took the 200 IM (2:06.38) and 100 breast (1:05.82.)  Chugiak’s Izzy Powers won both of the sprint freestyles, finishing at 24.17 for the 50 free and 52.80 for the 100.  Sitka’s Jessica Davis turned in 59.11 and 58.31 to win the 100 fly and 100 back as well.  Caleb Law from Service and Bergen Davis from Thunder Mountain each took two titles on the boys’ side.  Law won the 50 free (21.32) and 100 free (47.10,) while Davis took the 200 IM (1:54.75) and 100 breast (58.03.)

Other girls event winners include Kodiak’s Marina Cummiskey in the 200 free (1:53.72,) Dimond’s Camryn Williams in the 500 free (5:15.91,) and Savana Trueb from South Anchorage in one-meter diving (455.95.) Juneau-Douglas won both the 200 medley and 400 free relays with 1:51.75 and 3:40.76, while Sitka took the girls’ 200 free relay at 1:39.92.  Other boys’ event winners were Spencer Holt from Thunder Mountain in the 100 fly at 50.84, and Lathrop’s Alex Suleimani in the 500 free at 4:43.14.  The boys 200 medley relay was won by Thunder Mountain, turning in the only sub-1:40 time with 1:38.58.



Leave a Reply

Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments