Emory Men & Women Claim 22nd Consecutive UAA Conference Titles

by SwimSwam 0

February 16th, 2020 College, NCAA Division III


  • Dates: Wednesday, February 12-Saturday, February 15, 2020
  • Location/Host: Myers-McLoraine Pool, Ratner Athletics Center – University of Chicago
  • Defending Champion: Emory women (21x); Emory men (21x)
  • Live Results: Available here
  • Live Video (if available): Available here
  • Championship Central

Courtesy: Emory Athletics


For the 22nd consecutive season and 28th time overall, the Emory University women’s swimming and diving team was crowned as the University Athletic Association team champions as the 33rd annual UAA Championships concluded Saturday night in Chicago, IL.

The Eagles tacked on three additional event championships Saturday evening to help clinch the conference crown. In total, Emory won 11 of the swimming titles and posted 23 All-UAA finishes as the team finished 154 points ahead of second place New York University.

Helping secure the conference crown Saturday night was sophomore Clio Hancock and freshman Caroline Maki as well as the 400 Freestyle Relay team of Maki, senior Caroline Olson, sophomore Taylor Leone and junior Lucy Daro.

Hancock captured her first-ever individual UAA title, winning gold in the 1650 Freestyle with a time of 16:54.31 and in the 100 Freestyle, Maki touched first for her first career solo UAA title, winning at 50.81. The night concluded with the 400 Freestyle Relay foursome cruising to the win, clocking in at 3:23.68.

Freshman Savannah Sowards was recognized at the conclusion of the meet as she named Co-Rookie of the Year. Sowards was an All-UAA performer in the 400 Medley Relay (2nd), 100 Butterfly (3rd) and advanced to the championship final in both the 100 Backstroke (6th) and 200 Backstroke (7th).

In addition to the three event titles on the final day of competition, the Eagles registered four second-place efforts: sophomore Gaige Elms in the 200 Backstroke (2:01.18), Leone in the 100 Freestyle (51.46), junior Lara Gemar in the 200 Breaststroke (2:20.46) and sophomore Allie Dixon in the 200 Butterfly (2:02.98).


The 33rd annual University Athletic Association Men’s Swimming & Diving Championships came down to the final event Saturday night in Chicago, IL and for the 22nd consecutive year it was the Eagles of Emory University that came away as the best in the UAA.

Leading by just 8.5 points heading into the championship final of the 400 Freestyle Relay, the Eagles needed a big-time swim by the team of senior Sage Ono, sophomore Colin LaFave, junior Chris Nicholson and sophomore Pat Pema and the group came through, headlined by Pema’s anchor leg. The sophomore closed out a tremendous championship meet with an anchor split of 44.81 that helped the Eagles overtake Chicago during the final leg and seal the team title. The quartet came in at 3:00.00 flat with the Maroons taking silver at 3:00.83.

The final 16.5-point margin of victory was the second closest in the history of the UAA Championships on the men’s side and the closest since a 3.5-point victory for the Eagles over Chicago in 2014. During the 2020 Championships, Emory secured seven event titles, 14 All-UAA finishes, established one UAA record and two school records.

Sophomore Lucas Bumgarner was honored at the conclusion of the meet as he was named the Men’s Diver of the Year for the second time. Bumgarner had another strong showing on Saturday in the 1-meter, earning the event championship with a finals score 575.10. Earlier in the afternoon, Bumgarner set a new school record with the top prelims mark at 581.80. Diving Coach Michael Haun also received recognition, being tabbed as the men’s Co-Diving Coaching Staff of the Year.

In addition to Bumgarner and the 400 Freestyle Relay event titles on Saturday, the Eagles recorded All-UAA performances in the 100 Freestyle with Nicholson placing third with a finals time of 45.47 and in the 200 Breaststroke, sophomore Jason Hamilton claimed bronze with a time of 2:01.84.

Leave a Reply

Want to take your swimfandom to the next level?

Subscribe to SwimSwam Magazine!