Eight men’s teams to gather in Bergamo for WPWL Super Final

Four European teams (including host Italy) and four squads selected through the intercontinental tournament will meet from June 23-28, 2015, to dispute the FINA WPWL Super Final in Bergamo, Italy.

As four daily games will be played in the north Italian city, Group A is composed of Brazil, Hungary, China, Croatia and Group B consists of Australia, Serbia, USA, Italy.

Serbia claimed victory at the 2014 Men’s Super Final of the World League in Dubai (UAE) by defeating Hungary, who placed second ahead of Montenegro. The exact same trio claimed the medals in the 2013 edition.

The defending squad from the Balkan region also took gold in 2011 and 2010 while it didn’t place on the podium in 2012. Croatia won the 2012 edition of the World League and was sacred Olympic Champion the same year.

MEDALLISTS at all FINA Men’s World Leagues:

2002: RUS, ESP, HUN
2003: HUN, ITA, USA
2004: 1. HUN 2. SCG 3. GRE
2005: 1. SCG 2. HUN. GER
2006: 1. SCG 2. ESP 3. GRE
2007: 1. SRB 2. HUN 3. AUS
2008: 1. SRB 2. USA 3. AUS
2009: 1. MNE 2. CRO 3. SRB
2010: 1. SRB 2. MNE 3. CRO
2011: 1. SRB 2. ITA 3. CRO
2012: 1. CRO 2. ESP 3. ITA
2013: 1. SRB 2. HUN 3. MNE
2014: 1. SRB 2. HUN 3. MNE

Leave a Reply

Notify of

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments

About Lauren Neidigh

Lauren Neidigh

Lauren Neidigh is a former NCAA swimmer at the University of Arizona (2013-2015) and the University of Florida (2011-2013). While her college swimming career left a bit to be desired, her Snapchat chin selfies and hot takes on Twitter do not disappoint. She's also a high school graduate of The …

Read More »