Denison Men Take Home 4th NCAA Division III Title in 8 Years

The Denison Men’s team took home the 2018 NCAA Division III Swimming and Diving Championships, marking their 4th title in 8 years. The Big Red won their first team title in 2011, repeated as champs in 2012, and won again in 2016. This win came over runner-up Emory, while the others all came over Kenyon. It was also their largest margin of victory to date, coming in at 227 points over Emory.

Denison is still well off Kenyon’s total titles, of which they’ve won 34 (31 consecutive), but The Big Red now has the 2nd most titles ever, ahead of Johns Hopkins with 3 titles. Another interesting note is that this is the first year since 1978 that Kenyon hasn’t finished in the top 2 at the NCAAs.

Longtime Denison head coach Gregg Parini was at the helm, winning his 7th Coach of the Year award for men (he’s won 4 for women as well). Parini was helped by assistant coaches Kellen Beckwith and Kim Lloyd, as well as head diving coach Russ Bertram.

Denison had 3 event winners in the men’s meet:

  • Kymani Senior – 100 fly – 48.03
  • Drake Horton, Stuart Hohm, Robert Wang, Ryan Stevenson – 800 free relay – 6:29.59
  • Robert Wang – 200 back – 1:45.37

Congratulations to the entire Denison Men’s Swimming and Diving Team:

Gus Anderson Free So. Ardmore, Pa. / Friends’ Central
Ryan Anderson Distance Jr. Gibsonia, Pa. / Pine-Richland
James Baker Free So. Honeoye Falls, N.Y. / Honeoye Falls-Lima
Jake Ball Breast Jr. Stafford, Va. / Colonial Forge
Kevin Benson Free Sr. Glenview, Ill. / Glenbrook South
Jackson Berman Distance Jr. Sammamish, Wash. / Eastlake
Francis Biagioli Free/IM/Fly So. Allendale, N.J. / Northern Highland
Ben Burdick Free Sr. Carmel, Ind. / Carmel
Carson Clear Back/Free Jr. Fort Collins, Colo. / Fossil Ridge
PJ Desmet Back/Fly/Free So. Shelby Twp., Mich. / De La Salle Collegiate
Tiernan Foster-Smith Breast Jr. Edina, Minn. / The Blake School
Kenny Fox Fly/Free/Breast Jr. Juneau, Alaska / Thunder Mountain
Nick Froemming Fly/Free So. Marietta, Ga. / Walton
Peyton Gaumer Breast/Fly Jr. Ankeny, Iowa / Dowling Catholic
Eric Gerlach Free/Fly So. Naperville, Ill. / Naperville Central
Zach Hammond Breast So. Shorewood, Wisc. / Shorewood
Matt Hedman IM/Free/Fly Jr. Anoka, Minn. / Anoka
Stuart Hohm Free Sr. Springfield, Ill. / Glenwood
Drake Horton Free Fr. Madison, Wis. / James Madison Memorial
Christien Kelly Sprint Free So. Toronto, Ontario / Royal St. George’s College
Ryan Klemptner Free/Fly So. Saline, Mich. / Saline
Thomas Locke Back/Fly Sr. Marietta, Ga. / Kennesaw Mountain
Victor Lowe Free/Fly Sr. Mount Vernon, Ohio / Mount Vernon
Adrian Maher Free/IM Fr. Keller, Texas / Keller
Liam Marsden-Readford Fly/Free Sr. Sydney, Australia / Arden Anglican School
Liam McCullogh Diving Jr. Chapel Hill, N.C. / East Chapel Hill
Matt McHugh Free/Fly/Back So. Charlottesville, Va. / St. Anne’s Belfield
Sam O’Malley Breast/IM Jr. Paradise Valley, Ariz. / Chaparral
Evan Ostojic Diving Fr. Fort Collins, Colo. / Fossil Ridge
Matt Reed Fly So. Naperville / Meet Valley
Aaron Saccurato Free/IM/Fly Sr. Cross River, N.Y. / Horace Greeley
Trent Schulten Sprint Free So. Louisville, Ky. / St. Xavier
Kymani Senior Free/Fly/Back So. White Plains, N.Y. / Woodlands
Chas Sigloh Back/Free Fr. Charlottesville, Va. / Woodberry Forest
John Spencer Back/Free Fr. Springfield, Ohio / Springfield
John Stauffer IM/Free/Back Fr. Skillman, N.J. / Montgomery
Ryan Stevenson Breast/Free Jr. Madeira, Ohio / Madeira
Brandt Swanson Fly/Free Sr. Eden Prairie, Minn. / Eden Prairie
Kyle Verstandig Sprint Free Fr. Albany, N.Y. / Albany Academy
Jacob von der Lippe Breast/IM Jr. Loveland, Colo. / Thompson Valley
Zach Wagner Sprint Free Sr. Seattle, Wash. / Lakeside
Oli Waldram Breast/Free Jr. Basingstoke, Hampshire, England / Farnborough 6th Form College
Bebe Wang IM/Free/Back So. Naperville, Ill. / Metea Valley
Brett Weicht Fly/Free Jr. Edina, Minn. / Edina
Jason Wesseling Back/Free Sr. Hudsonville, Mich. / Jenison
Mitch Williams Fly So. Columbus, Ohio / Loyola Blakefield


Leave a Reply

Notify of

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments