Denmark Announces Their Team for the World Short Course Championships on Final Day of the Country’s National Championships

by SwimSwam Staff 0

December 02nd, 2012 International, News

On the final day of the Danish Short Course National Swimming Championships Mie Nielson in her final event, the meet’s final event, broke both the Danish and Nordic Records in the 100 backstroke posting a time of  57.16. Breaking her own record which she tied earlier in the meet of 57.57; the previous Nordic record was held by Therese Alshammar in a time of 57.43 set in 2009.

The men from Farum Guns also came away from the evening with a new Danish record in the 4 x 50 freestyle relay. The team made up of Donald Blume (22.31), Niklas Hedegaard (22.18), Anders Lie (22.05) and Frederik Siem Pedersen (21.89) combined for the total time of 1:28.43 surpassing the previous national record of 1:28.89 set by the team from VAT Herrer in 2010.

And Chris Christensen had another successful evening winning his fourth event of the championships in the 200 backstroke.

Other winners from the evening include:

Women’s 4 x 50 freestyle relay – Kvik Damer 1 – 1:41.76

Women’s 200 freestyle – Julie Brøndum Petersen – 2:00.68

Men’s 1500 freestyle – Anton Ørskov – 15:18.38

Women’s 50 backstroke – Kristina Thomsen – 28.52

Men’s 200 backstroke – Chris Christensen – 1:55.36

Women’s 100 butterfly – Christina Munkholm – 59.06

Men’s 100 butterfly – Viktor Bromer – 52.15

Women’s 400 IM – Julie Aglund Lauridsen – 4:39.23

Men’s 4 x 100 medley relay – Aalborg Herrer 1 – 3:38.48

Women’s 4 x 100 medley relay – Kvik Damer 1 – 4:03.77

On this final evening of competition the Danish Swimming Federation announced the team that will be representing Denmark at the Short Course World Championships.

The team will consist of:

Lotte Friis, Sigma Swim Allerød / Nice.

Jeanette Ottesen, Quick Kastrup / NTC.

Rikke Moller Pedersen, The Odense / NTC.

Pernille Blume, Sigma Swim Birkerød / Nice.

Mie E. Nielsen, Aalborg.

Kelly Riber Rasmussen, Lyngby / NTC.

Katrineholm Sorensen, Esbjerg Swim Club / NTC.

Mads Glæsner, VI39/VAT-CPH/USA.

Daniel Skaaning, STT / VAT CPH.

Anders Lie, Farum.

Chris Christensen, Holstebro Swim Club.

Viktor Bromer, Aalborg.



In This Story

Leave a Reply