China takes 7 titles at the FINA/NVC Diving World Series

China took home seven of the eight titles on offer at the penultimate leg of the FINA/NVC Diving World Series, held for the first time in Windsor (CAN) on May 30 – June 1. Meaghan Benfeito and Roseline Filion, 2013 World silver medallists, pocketed their first World Series title, finishing atop the women’s 10m platform synchro.

Among men, 19-year-old Cao collected 10 perfect marks to sweep the 10m platform event with a gruelling score of 586.20, edging reigning World champion Qiu Bo, who took second with a total 557.80. German Sascha Klein, 2013 World bronze medallist, completed the podium with an overall 496.20 points.

On the lower board, current World champion He Chong of China took out the event, amassing 521.30. Sharing the podium with the Chinese were Jack Laugher (GBR, second) and Illya Kvasha (UKR, third).

In the women’s events, China’s Huang Xiaohui, who made her individual World Series debut in Windsor, tasted victory in the 10m platform, scoring 440.75. Her team-mate Liu Huixia picked up silver with a total 395.40 points while local hope Roseline Filion claimed the bronze, totalling 365.90.

In her first appearance at World Series this year, Shi Tingmao (CHN) took out the women’s 3m springboard with a total 398.45 points. The 22-year-old diver bested team-mate Wang Han, second with 385.05. Canada’s Jennifer Abel took third with an overall 356.15 points.

3m springboard: 1. He Chong (CHN) 521.30; 2. Jack Laugher (GBR) 504.30; 3. Illya Kvasha (UKR) 498.05
10m platform: 1. Cao Yuan (CHN) 586.20; 2. Qiu Bo (CHN) 557.80; 3. Sascha Klein (GER) 496.20
3m synchro: 1. Lin Yue / Cao Yuan (CHN) 460.08; 2. Stephan Feck / Patrick Hausding (GER) 424.53; 3. Jack Laugher / Christopher Mears (GBR) 424.35
10m synchro: 1. Lin Yue / Cao Yuan (CHN) 486.36; 2. Patrick Hausding / Sascha Klein (GER) 437.70; 3. Ivan Garcia / German Sanchez (MEX) 421.02

3m springboard: 1. Shi Tingmao (CHN) 398.45; 2. Wang Han (CHN) 385.05; 3. Jennifer Abel (CAN) 356.15
10m platform: 1. Huang Xiaohui (CHN) 440.75; 2. Liu Huixia (CHN) 395.40; 3. Roseline Filion (CAN) 365.90
3m synchro: 1. Wang Han / He Zi (CHN) 326.40; 2. Pamela Ware / Jennifer Abel (CAN) 326.25; 3. Tania Cagnotto / Francesca Dallape (ITA) 308.10
10m synchro: 1. Meaghan Benfeito / Roseline Filion (CAN) 330.75; 2. Sarah Barrow / Tonia Couch (GBR) 311.10; 3. Emily Boyd / Lara Tarvit (AUS) 308.58

Monterrey (MEX) on June 6-8, 2014 will be the last stop of the FINA/NVC Diving World Series.

Swimming news  / diving news courtesy of FINA.

Leave a Reply

About Gold Medal Mel Stewart

Gold Medal Mel Stewart

MEL STEWART Jr., aka Gold Medal Mel, won three Olympic medals at the 1992 Olympic Games. Mel's best event was the 200 butterfly. He is a former World, American, and NCAA Record holder in the 200 butterfly. As a writer/producer and sports columnist, Mel has contributed to Yahoo Sports, Universal Sports, …

Read More »

Want to take your swimfandom to the next level?

Subscribe to SwimSwam Magazine!