FINA Men’s Water Polo World League: USA, Brazil, Australia, China and Canada qualify for Super Final

The eight teams set to compete in the FINA Men’s Water Polo World League Super Final 2014 were decided following the conclusion of the Intercontinental Tournament held in Shanghai (CHN) on May 27 – June 1.

The teams of Australia, Brazil, Canada, China and USA join European qualifiers Serbia, Hungary and Montenegro in the Super Final to be staged in Dubai (UAE) on June 16-21, 2014.

In Shanghai, the American squad claimed the gold, beating the Brazilians 11-7. USA placed fourth in the World League last year while Brazil finished eighth.

Australia crushed China, 16-8, securing the bronze. Canada edged Kazakhstan in a tight 9-8 victory to earn the last Super Final berth.

The final standings of the Men’s Intercontinental Water Polo Tournament in Shanghai (CHN) are as follows: 1. USA, 2. Brazil, 3. Australia, 4. China, 5. Canada, 6. Kazakhstan, 7. Japan.

Swimming news / water polo news courtesy of FINA.

Leave a Reply

About Gold Medal Mel Stewart

Gold Medal Mel Stewart

MEL STEWART Jr., aka Gold Medal Mel, won three Olympic medals at the 1992 Olympic Games. Mel's best event was the 200 butterfly. He is a former World, American, and NCAA Record holder in the 200 butterfly. As a writer/producer and sports columnist, Mel has contributed to Yahoo Sports, Universal Sports, …

Read More »

Want to take your swimfandom to the next level?

Subscribe to SwimSwam Magazine!