Asian Games – Day One Prelims

Jeff Grace
by Jeff Grace 9

September 20th, 2014 Asia, International, News

2014 ASIAN GAMES – SWIMMING

EVENT SCHEDULE

Sunday

  • M 200 Free
  • W 400 Free
  • M 100 Back
  • W 100 Breast
  • M 200 Fly
  • W 4×100 Free Relay

Monday

  • W 50 Fly
  • M 50 Back
  • W 100 Free
  • M 200 IM
  • W 200 Breast
  • M 4×200 Free Relay

Tuesday

  • W 50 Back
  • M 50 Free
  • W 400 IM
  • M 200 Breast
  • W 100 Fly
  • M 400 Free
  • W 4×200 Free Relay

Wednesday

  • M 100 Fly
  • W 200 Free
  • M 100 Breast
  • W 200 Fly
  • M 400 IM
  • W 100 Back
  • M 4×100 Free Relay

Thursday

  • M 50 Fly
  • W 50 Breast
  • M 100 Free
  • W 800 Free (timed finals, fastest heat at night)
  • M 200 Back
  • W 4×100 Medley Relay

Friday

  • W 50 Free
  • W 200 Back
  • M 1500 Free (timed final, fastest heat at night)
  • W 200 IM
  • M 4×100 Medley Relay

START TIMES AROUND THE WORLD

Local Time:

  • Prelims/Finals: 9AM/7PM (UTC+9)

Asian Games countries:

  • Tokyo, Japan: 9AM/7PM (UTC+9)
  • Beijing, China: 8AM/6PM (UTC+8)
  • Jakarta, Indonesia: 7AM/5PM (UTC+7)

Other countries:

  • US Eastern: 8PM(night before)/6AM(UTC-4)
  • US Pacific: 5PM(night before)/3AM(UTC-7)
  • Sydney, Australia: 10AM/8PM(UTC+10)
  • Paris, France: 2AM/12noon(UTC+2)
  • Berlin, Germany: 2AM/12noon(UTC+2)
  • London, England: 1AM/11AM(UTC+1)
  • Moscow, Russia: 4AM/2PM(UTC+4)
  • Rio, Brazil: 9PM(night before)/7AM(UTC-3)

 

The swimming events began on the second day of the Asian Games in Incheon. The men’s 200 freestyle started things off and is the first event that will see Park Tae-hwan face off against Sun Yang. This may be the most anticipated swimming event at the games as it is the event where the two men tied for Olympic silver in London.

Men’s 200 freestyle

  • World record – 1:42.00 – Paul Biedermann – Germany (2009)
  • Asian record – 1:44.47 – Sun Yang -China (2013)
  • Asian Games record – 1:44.80 – Park Tae-hwan – South Korea (2010)

The prelims saw the two favourites cruise to victory in their heats. Sun won the fourth and final heat in a time of 1:48.90, which is the fastest qualifying time. Kosuke Hagino of Japan took the second heat in a time of 1:48.99 to post the second fastest time of the prelims while Park won the third heat in at time of 1:50.29.

Tonight’s final will also include Li Yunqi of China (1:50.43), Kai Quan Yeo of Singapore (1:50.91), Takeshi Matsuda of Japan (1:50.20), Quy Phuoc Hoang of Vietnam (1:51.00) and Huang Yen Hsin of Chinese Taipei (1:51.08).

Women’s 400 freestyle

  • World record – 3:58.37 – Katie Ledecky – USA (2014)
  • Asian record – 4:02.35 – Chen Qian – China (2009)
  • Asian Games record – 4:05.58 – Shao Yiwen – China (2010)

Bi Yirong of China, who has a season’s best time of 4:06.18, for the final with the top time, touching in a 4:12.27. Her teammate Zhang Yuan won the second heat and was the second fastest qualifier posting a time of 4:12.82.

The next two fastest qualifier were Chihiro Igarashi (4:14.29) and Asami Chida (4:14.80) of Japan.

The final will also include; Sarisa Suwannachet (4:16.82) and Benjaporn Sriphanomthorn (4:17.05) of Thailand, Suyeon Kim of South Korea (4:17.18) and Cai Lin Khoo of Malaysia (4:18.07).

Men’s 100 backstroke

  • World record – 51.94 – Aaron Peirsol – USA (2009)
  • Asian record – 52.24 – Ryosuke Irie – Japan (2009)
  • Asian Games record – 53.61 – Ryosuke Irie – Japan (2010)

100 backstroke Olympic bronze medalist Ryosuke Irie of Japan was morning’s fastest qualifier posting a time of 53.87 only 26 one-hundredths of a second off his Asian Games record. Xu Jiayu of China was the next fastest qualifier recording a time of 54.60 followed by Kosuke Hagino who took the first heat in a time of 54.86. Xu sits on top of the world rankings with a season’s best of 52.34 while Irie is second with a 52.57 and Hagino is in the fourth position with a season’s best of 53.08.

Tonight’s final will also include; Alexandr Tarabrin of Kazakhstan (55.51), Park Seonkwan of South Korea (55.72), Gede Siman Sudartawa of Indonesia (56.35), Merdan Atayev of Turkmenistan (56.63) and Im Taejeong of South Korea (56.74).

Women’s 100 breaststroke

  • World record – 1:04.35 – Ruta Meilutyte – Lithuania (2013)
  • Asian record – 1:05.32 – Ji Liping – China (2009)
  • Asian Games record – 1:06.84 – Luo Xuejuan – China (2002)

Kanako Watanabe of Japan, who has a season’s best time of 1:05.88 cruised the prelims finishing with the top qualifying time of 1:08.18. Shi Jinglin of China was the second fastest qualifier touching in a time of 1:08.34 while Satomi Suzuki of Japan, who has a season’s best of 1:06.48 finished with the third fastest qualifying time of 1:08.83.

Tonight’s final will also include; Kwon Minjikor of South Korea (1:09.30), He Yun of China (1:09.95), Yvette Man Yi Kong of Hong Kong (1:10.50), Yang Jiwon of South Korea (1:11.02) and Daria Talanova of Kyrgyzstan (1:11.62).

Men’s 200 butterfly

  • World record – 1:51.51 – Michael Phelps – USA (2009)
  • Asian record – 1:52.97 – Takeshi Matsuda – Japan (2008)
  • Asian Games record – 1:54.02 – Takeshi Matsuda – Japan (2010)

The final individual event of the morning was the men’s 200 butterfly. Daiya Seto of Japan, who currently holds the second place position in the world rankings with a time of 1:54.56, was the fastest qualifier touching in a time of 1:57.18. Seto’s teammate Kenta Hirai was the next fastest qualifier hitting the wall in the time of 1:59.74 followed by Hao Yun of China who posted a 1:59.76.

Tonight’s final will also include; Wang Pudong of China (1:59.83), Joseph Schooling of Singapore (1:59.92), Hsu Chi Chieh of Chinese Taipei (2:01.38), Gyucheoi Chang of South Korea (2:01.81) and Tin Yu Ling of Hong Kong (2:03.89).

Women’s 4 x 100 freestyle relay

  • World record – 3:30.98 – Australia (2014)
  • Asian record – 3:35.63 – China (2009)
  • Asian Games record – 3:36.88 – China (2010)

The Chinese women head into tonight’s final as the top qualifiers in the women’s 4 x 100 freestyle relay having posted a time of 3:39.41. They were followed by Japan who recorded a 3:43.05 and Hong Kong who touched in a time of 3:45.70.

Tonight’s final will also include; South Korea (3:46.89), Singapore (3:52.63), Chinese Taipei (3:52.97), Thailand (4:00.38) and Mongolia (4:40.01).


Full results can be found
here

In This Story

9
Leave a Reply

4 Comment threads
5 Thread replies
0 Followers
 
Most reacted comment
Hottest comment thread
6 Comment authors
newest oldest most voted
Sven

Hagino recently went 52.78 in a MR leadoff. I think it puts him at 4th in the world behind the two mentioned, and Matt Grevers’ 52.75

I don’t know who will win the 100 back, but I think we can all agree that that 53.61 AGR is going down.

Lane Four

I would not be surprised to see one of the men’s backstroke WRs go (if not both).

Sven

I’m gonna be honest, I think that 200 back record is safe for a long time. 1:51 is unreal. I could see Grevers, Irie, or Jiayu potentially taking the 100 WR by the time we’re through with Rio, though.

Lane Four

I agree. I realize that the 200 is a tough record, but the guys are so young and hungry, I wouldn’t be surprised if one of them took it down. Another race that is going to be hot!

aswimfan

I think it’s very unlikely the supersuit men 200 back WR (1:51.92) will be broken, even after Rio. The textile record is more than one second slower by Lochte, 1:52.96, then the next one is by Clary at a further half second away at 1:53.41 I doubt Irie will ever get under 1:53, he would have done it already if he could. I also don’t think Hagino will ever get sub 1:53 let alone going 1:51, especially not if he keeps his crazy schedule. It may sound like a broken record, but both Hagino and iriie’s potential are also limited by their physical height. Xu Yiaju is still a question mark. He is still a teenager, so we may see… Read more »

Hank

Maybe Clary is faster because of the G forces he is handling with in auto racing. That’s solid cross training!

Bad Anon

Quite so Aswimfan. How could you forget Kirsty Coventry who broke 200back WR in Feb2008 before going on to break 100back WR @ the olympics in Aug2008 in beijing..

About Jeff Grace

Jeff Grace

Jeff is a 500 hour registered yoga teacher who holds diplomas in Coaching (Douglas College) and High Performance Coaching (National Coaching Institute - Calgary). He has a background of over 20 years in the coaching profession, where he has used a unique and proven teaching methodology to help many achieve their …

Read More »

Want to take your swimfandom to the next level?

Subscribe to SwimSwam Magazine!