Alabama’s Eric Stelmar Nominated For SEC McWhorter Post-Grad Scholarship

by SwimSwam 0

April 11th, 2024 College, News, SEC

Courtesy: SEC Sports

BIRMINGHAM, Alabama (April 9, 2024) – Eric Stelmar of the Alabama swimming & diving team and Anne Marie Hiser of the Crimson Tide tennis squad have been nominated for the H. Boyd McWhorter Scholar-Athlete Post-Graduate Scholarship by the University of Alabama.

The H. Boyd McWhorter Scholar-Athlete Post-Graduate Scholarship has been presented by the Southeastern Conference since 1986 to the league’s top male and female scholar-athletes.

The Southeastern Conference will name the 2024 recipients of the H. Boyd McWhorter Scholar-Athlete Post-Graduate Scholarship on April 30.

Highlights of Alabama’s nominees include:

ERIC STELMAR, Alabama, Swimming & Diving

Major: Biology

  • 4.0 GPA in Biology
  • CSCAA first-team Scholar All-American, 2022, 2021
  • Second team CSCAA Scholar All-American, 2023
  • Five-Time Presidents List
  • Two-time Deans List
  • Three-Time SEC Honor Roll
  • Scored points in the 100 backstroke and 200 backstroke at the 2024 SEC Championships with season-best times in both events
  • Also scored points in the 100 and 200 backstroke at the 2021, 2022 and 2023 SEC Championships
  • Finished 12th in the 200 backstroke at the 2024 SEC Championships, in addition to placing 18th in the 100 backstroke
  • Advanced to the 2021 and 2022 NCAA Championships in the 100 and 200 backstroke
  • Ranks sixth all-time in program history in the 200 backstroke and seventh all-time in the 100 backstroke

ANNE MARIE HISER, Alabama, Tennis

Major: Communications

  • 3.8 GPA in Communication Studies (Major) and Sports and Exercise Management (Self-designed minor)
  • CSC Academic All-District Team, 2023
  • USTA Novo Nordisk Donnelly National Scholarship, 2022
  • Two-time ITA Scholar-Athlete
  • First-Year Academic Honor Roll, 2021
  • During her senior year, Hiser and her doubles partner paced Alabama with 10 double victories
  • The two earned their highest ITA Doubles ranking in 2023 after being ranked seventh
  • ITA Southern ITA Regional Doubles Champion, 2021
  • ITA Southern Region Arthur Ashe Jr. Leadership and Sportsmanship Award Winner, 2023

The SEC provides the league’s male and female McWhorter Scholar-Athlete of the Year Post-Graduate Scholarship recipients with a $20,000 post-graduate scholarship.  The 26 remaining male and female finalists for the award will also receive a $10,000 post-graduate scholarship.

The award recipients are chosen by a committee of Faculty Athletics Representatives from the 14 SEC institutions and are announced in May, as well as honored by the league membership at SEC Spring Meetings in Destin, Fla.

Last year’s McWhorter Award recipients were LSU men’s cross country and track and field student-athlete Jackson Martingayle and Callie Dickinson of the Georgia women’s swimming and diving team.

Leave a Reply

Notify of

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments