2023 Para Swimming World Series Day 3: USA and Mexican Post Podium Sweeps

2023 Para Swimming World Series

  • April 20-23, 2023
  • Jean K. Freeman Aquatic Center, Minneapolis, MN
  • LCM
  • Results on Meet Mobile “2023 Citi Para Swimming World Series”

Following the pattern of strong swimming that was shown during the first two days of the meet, the third, and final, day of competition at the Para Swimming World Series stop in Minneapolis did not disappoint. The meet, which serves as the United States’ selection meet for the 2023 Para Swimming World Championships, saw several American and International podium-sweeps during the final session.

The United States saw two podium-sweeps during the session, taking all three medals in the
women’s 200 IM and the women’s 100 backstroke. In one of the closest races of the weekend, Olivia Chambers and Elizabeth Marks tied for the top spot in the women’s 200 IM, with Chambers competing in the SM13 class (2:26.82) and Marks competing in the SM6 class (2:59.71). Fellow American SM13 competitor Colleen Young rounded-out the podium for the USA with her final time of 2:31.36.

In the second all-Team USA podium of the night, Christie Raleigh-Crossley took gold in the women’s 100 backstroke with her time of 1:10.01 out of the S9 class. Raleigh-Crossley, a former DIII NCAA Champion at Rowan, is only about a month removed from breaking the World Record in the S9 50 Backstroke at the previous stop of the series in Italy. Her American teammates and fellow S9 swimmers Hannah Aspden and Lizzi Smith claimed second and third, coming in just behind Crossley with their times of 1:10.59 and 1:13.94, respectively.

Mexico got a podium sweep during the session as well, taking the top 3 spots in the men’s 150 IM. Christopher Gregorio Tronco Sanchez took the win out of the SM2 class with his time of 3:53.33, with SM4 competitors Angel De Jesus Camacho Ramirez (2:43.13) and Gustavo Ramon Sanchez Martinez (2:48.95) taking 2nd and 3rd in the event.

The aforementioned Ramirez also took first in the men’s 50 backstroke, posting a time of 43.78 in the S4 class. His Mexican teammate and S3 competitor Diego Lopez Diaz dropped a time of 52.33 for third, with American S5 swimmer Abbas Karimi sandwiched between the two for the silver medal with a 40.55.


Women’s 50m Backstroke
1. Karina Amayrani Hernandez Torres (MEX)

Men’s 50m Backstroke
1. Angel De Jesus Camacho Ramirez (MEX)
2. Abbas Karimi
3. Diego Lopez Diaz (MEX)

Women’s 200m Individual Medley
1. Olivia Chambers
1. Elizabeth Marks
3. Colleen Young

Men’s 200m Individual Medley
1. Ugo Didier (FRA)
2. Jesus Alberto Gutierrez Bermudez (MEX)
3. David Abrahams

Women’s 150m Individual Medley
1. Nely Edith Miranda Herrera (MEX)
2. Lidia Vieira Da Cruz (BRA)

Men’s 150m Individual Medley
1. Christopher Gregorio Tronco Sanchez (MEX)
2. Angel De Jesus Camacho Ramirez (MEX)
3. Gustavo Ramon Sanchez Martinez (MEX)

Women’s 100m Backstroke
1. Christie Raleigh Crossley
2. Hannah Aspden
3. Elizabeth Smith

Men’s 100m Backstroke
1. Ugo Didier (FRA)
2. Barry McClements (IRL)
3. Lawrence Sapp


Leave a Reply

Notify of

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments

About Nicole Miller

Nicole Miller

Nicole has been with SwimSwam since April 2020, as both a reporter and social media contributor. Prior to joining the SwimSwam platform, Nicole also managed a successful Instagram platform, amassing over 20,000 followers. Currently, Nicole is pursuing her B.S. in Biomedical Engineering at Worcester Polytechnic Institute. After competing for the swim …

Read More »