2022 House of Champions Day 1: Zietlow Crushes Horizon League Record with 4:44 500 FR


  • November 17-19, 2022
  • IUPUI Natatorium, Indianapolis, IN
  • SCY (25 yards)
  • Hosted by IUPUI
  • Meet Site
  • Live results can be found on MeetMobile


  • Butler
  • Green Bay
  • Lewis
  • Milwaukee
  • U Indy
  • UIC


IUPUI is hosting their annual House of Champions Invite this week at the IUPUI Natatorium in Indianapolis. At this year’s meet, the Horizon League is well-represented with IUPUI, Green Bay, and Milwaukee in attendance. UIC, a former Horizon League team, is also in attendance. Division II powerhouse U Indy is at the meet as well, along with fellow DII program Lewis.

IUPUI saw Emmaleigh Zietlow tear to victory in the women’s 500 free final last night, swimming a 4:44.88. Not only did Zietlow touch first by ten seconds, she blew away her previous best in the event and took a stunning seven seconds off the IUPUI team record in the event. Additionally, Zietlow is now the fastest performer in Horizon League history in the event. It doesn’t appear that the Horizon League keeps official conference records, but from what we’ve been able to tell, Zietlow is now the fastest all-time performer in the conference by several seconds.

U Indy was exceptional in the sprint events. The U Indy women won the first event of the night, the 200 free relay, in a meet record-setting 1:30.86. Johanna Buys (22.49), Leticia Vaselli (22.64), Julia Magierowska (22.86), and Andrea Paaske (22.87) teamed up to get the job done, breaking the U Indy program record as well. On top of that Buys’ lead-off split of 22.49 marks a new U Indy team record in the women’s 50 free.

U Indy would also win the men’s 200 free relay, seeing Jeron Thompson (19.82), Diego Mas (19.12), Nicholas Quintero Obando (20.24), and Joao Silva (19.29) combined for a 1:18.47.

Diego Mas would go on to win the men’s 50 free in 19.65, marking a new U Indy program record in the event. Silva was also under 20 seconds in the 50 free final, taking second in 19.85.

Buys would go on to win the women’s 50 free, but was slower than she led the relay off in, posting a 22.86. Coming in second was UIC’s Poleena Kovalaske with a 23.13, breaking the UIC team record in the event.

Kovalaske also helped the Flames’ 200 free relay to a team record in the 200 free relay. Madison Helmick (23.98), Kalie Landrum (23.88), Lizzie Zeller (23.09), and Kovalaske (22.36) teamed up for a 1:33.31, taking second and coming in 0.02 seconds under the UIC team record in the event.

U Indy also picked up a win in the men’s 200 IM, where Bartek Swiderski swam a 1:48.17. He got out to an early lead, splitting 49.33 on the first 100. The Greyhounds went 1-2 in the men’s 500 free as well. Christian Hedeen won the race in 4:22.18, touching out teammate Cedric Buessing by 0.19 seconds.

UIC grabbed a win of their own in the women’s 200 IM, where Taira Juronis swam a 2:03.07. She pulled ahead on the breast leg of the race, then split 28.96 on free to grow her lead on the final 50.


Leave a Reply

Notify of

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments