2022 Horizon League Champs: 8x Defending Champs Oakland Sweep Night 1 Relays



1) Oakland 115
2) IUPUI 97
3) Milwaukee 92
4) Youngstown State 85
5) Green Bay 54
6) UIC 34
7) Cleveland State 32

1) Oakland 80
2) Cleveland State 66
3) IUPUI 62
4) UIC 58
5) Green Bay 54
5) Youngstown State 54
5) Milwaukee 54

The Oakland Golden Grizzlies got off to another electric start at the Horizon League Championships last night in Indianapolis. The 8x defending men’s and women’s champions swept the relay on opening night, winning 3 of the relays decisively, and breaking a championship record.

Let’s start with the final relay of the night: the men’s 800 free relay, where Oakland broke the Horizon League Championship Record. Rudy Aguilar led the team off in 1:37.21, and was followed by Danylo Hrebelnyi in 1:36.12. Ben Davis went 3rd, splitting 1:37.73, and Marko Khotynnetskyi anchored with a 1:35.15, for a final time of 6:26.21. The Golden Grizzlies won the race by 7.48 seconds.

The women’s 800 free relay was just as decisive a victory for Oakland, although it wasn’t a record-breaking performance. Jordyn Shipps (1:49.27), Emily Aycock (1:50.91), Sohvi Nenonen (1:50.70), and Susan LaGrand (1:47.88) teamed up for a 7:18.76.

In the women’s 200 medley relay Susan LaGrand (25.12), Sydney McDowell (27.88), Sophia Davis (24.40), and Ronja Riihinen (22.87) combined for a 1:40.27. Marko Khotynetskyi (21.94), Ryan Geheb (23.97), Mack Flowers (21.13), and Christian Bart (19.45) teamed up to win the men’s 200 medley in 1:26.41.

Notably, both of UIC’s women’s relays last night were disqualified. The Flames did however grab a victory in women’s 3-meter diving, where Cydney Liebenberg posted a final score of 317.00 to win by a huge 35-point margin. A reminder that UIC was very nearly not allowed to compete at these championships, as it was only earlier this week that the Horizon League voted to allow the Flames to compete. 

Leave a Reply

Notify of

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments