2018 Summit League Champs Day 3 Recap: Denver Men Break 400 MR Record




  1. Denver – 720
  2. Nebraska Omaha – 418
  3. South Dakota State – 375
  4. South Dakota – 354
  5. Western Illinois – 145
  6. Eastern Illinois – 136


  1. Denver – 751
  2. South Dakota – 472
  3. South Dakota State – 456
  4. Western Illinois – 236.50
  5. Eastern Illinois – 203
  6. Valparaiso – 145.50


On the 3rd day of the Summit League, Denver remained undefeated in the events at this meet, extending their overall Summit League event win streak to 64 events. Denver also broke a other Summit League record, this time in the men’s 400 medley relay.

The Denver team of Anton Loncar, Cy Jager, Stephen Calkins, and Cameron Auchinachie combined to win the event in 3:09.36, coming in 10 seconds ahead of runner-up South Dakota State. They also broke their own Summit League record of 3:09.55, set last year. Anton Loncar led off the relay in 46.91, slightly faster than he went to win the 100 back later in the meet (46.98). Jager split a 52.96, faster than he went to win the 100 breast later in the session. Calkins was a 46.88 on the fly split, nearly a second faster than he went to win the 100 fly on day 2 (47.75). Auchinachie anchored the relay with a quick 42.61, a split which will help the 400 free relay greatly tomorrow. All 4 of Denver’s splits were the fastest in the field. They also narrowly missed the ‘B’ cut, which would have allowed them to swim the event at the NCAAs if they pick up an individual ‘A’ cut.

Maddie Myers won the women’s 400 IM by over 14 seconds, posting a 4:13.57. Bailey Andison noticeably did not swim the 400 IM, which she holds the Summit League record with a 4:07.70, which she swam last year. Myers swam the fastest split in all 4 strokes, posting a 56.98 fly, 1:04.07 back, 1:13.05 breast, and a 59.47 to bring it home on free. That time was a ‘B’ cut, but was 3 seconds off what it took to be invited to the NCAAs last year.

Stephen Calkins took the men’s 200 free with a 1:35.46, leading a group of Denver swimmers that filled out the top 4. Summit League record-holder (1:34.42) Ray Bornman came in 4th with a 1:38.35. Colin Gilbert and Hugo Sykes were 2nd and 3rd, posting 1:36.10 and 1:37.72 respectively. Calkins was out fast – splitting a 45.44 on the first 100, but fell off a little, coming home in 50.02.

Morgan McCormick won the women’s 100 back by nearly 2 seconds, posting a 52.86 to narrowly miss the Summit League record of 52.75. She split a 25.82 on the first 50 to outsplit the entire field by a significant margin, and she came back a second faster than anyone else at 27.04.

Leave a Reply

Notify of

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments