2016 B1G Men’s Champs: Day Four Prelims Live Recap


  • Wednesday, February 24 – Saturday, February 27
  • Boilermaker Aquatic Center, West Lafayette, IN (Eastern Time Zone)
  • Prelims 11AM / Finals 6:30PM (Eastern Time)
  • Defending Champion: Michigan (5x) (results)
  • Live results
  • Live Video ($)
  • Championship Central

Michigan’s already run away with this championship title, essentially, but they still have a lot of fast swimming ahead of them. Paul Powers will look to set himself up for a title run at the 100 free, while Dylan Bosch will try to defend his conference crown in the 200 fly.

Ohio State is just 10.5 points ahead of Indiana in the hunt for 2nd, meaning that if things play out just right, the team race between these two programs could come down to the 400 free relay. While that might not be in the cards, it’s still looking incredibly tight right now, and both teams will be itching to send as many swimmers into finals to score points tonight.


Indiana’s Bob Glover swam a 1:41.42 this morning to take the top seed going into finals, setting a new personal best.

Following Glover were two Badgers, Austin Byrd (1:41.69) and Brett Pinfold (1:42.38).

Team race update: OSU certainly had a successful event with three swimmers making the A final in this event compared to IU, who just have Glover.

Top 8

  1. Bob Glover (IU), 1:41.42
  2. Austin Byrd (WISC), 1:41.69
  3. Brett Pinfold (WISC), 1:42.38
  4. Tristan Sanders (MICH), 1:42.49
  5. Andrew Appleby (OSU), 1:42.61
  6. Luke Papendick (MICH), 1:42.88
  7. Thomas Trace (OSU), 1:43.02
  8. Gus Whiteman (OSU), 1:43.36


Indiana loaded up for this final, with sophomore Blake Pieroni touching at 42.56. His teammates Ali Khalafalla (42.82) and Anze Tavcar (42.95) grabbed 3rd and 5th.

Michigan’s Powers sits at 4th, but after his incredible swim in the 50, he’s someone to keep an extra eye on tonight.

Finishing 2nd was Cannon Clifton of Wisconsin in 42.67. The top five guys were between 42.5 and 43.0.

Top 8

  1. Blake Pieroni (IU), 42.56
  2. Cannon Clifton (WISC), 42.67
  3. Ali Khalafalla (IU), 42.82
  4. Paul Powers (MICH), 42.85
  5. Anze Tavcar (IU), 42.95
  6. Anders Nielsen (MICH), 43.35
  7. Bowen Becker (MINN), 43.43
  8. Filip Bujoczek (PUR), 43.51


Purdue’s Marat Amaltdinov broke up the IU hold on top seeds with his time of 1:53.68, breaking his own pool and personal records.

Indiana won’t be lacking in points, though, with Tanner KurzIan FinnertyCody Taylor finishing up 2nd through 4th. Surprisingly, considering Michigan’s domination during this meet, there are no Wolverines in this A final. Their highest finisher this morning was Chris Klein (1:56.56) in 10th.

Top 8

  1. Marat Amaltdinov (PUR), 1:53.68
  2. Tanner Kurz (IU), 1:54.41
  3. Ian Finnerty (IU), 1:54.43
  4. Cody Taylor (IU), 1:54.67
  5. DJ MacDonald (OSU), 1:55.25
  6. Conner McHugh (MINN), 1:55.47
  7. Jacob Mandli (WISC), 1:55.49
  8. Jakub Maly (MINN), 1:55.91


Defending 200 fly B1G champion and 2014 NCAA champion Dylan Bosch handled the field with ease, touching at 1:41.49 to take the top seed for tonight’s championship final.

Next to the wall this morning was IU’s 2nd semester addition from Brazil, Vinicius Lanza. He finished at 1:42.77, breaking the Indiana school record in the process. His teammate Max Irwin (1:43.95) also made it into the A final, finishing with the 5th best time in prelims.

Michigan makes up 3/8 of tonight’s championship final, with Peter Brumm (1:43.72) and Evan White (1:43.88) taking the 3rd and 4th spots.

Top 8

  1. Dylan Bosch (MICH), 1:41.49
  2. Vinicius Lanza (IU), 1:42.77
  3. Peter Brumm (MICH), 1:43.72
  4. Evan White (MICH), 1:43.88
  5. Max Irwin (IU), 1:43.95
  6. Ching Lim (OSU), 1:43.98
  7. Daniel Conway (PUR), 1:45.75
  8. Harrison Tran (WISC), 1:46.05


The Minnesota divers have primed themselves for a big points haul after putting up the top three scores in prelims of the platform diving competition.

Top 8

  1. Manny Pollard (MINN), 423.45
  2. Dylan Zoe (MINN), 409.20
  3. Matt Barnard (MINN), 408.15
  4. Colin Zeng (OSU), 407.20
  5. Stephen Romanik (OSU), 371.95
  6. Joey Cifelli (PUR), 357.00
  7. Alan LeBlang (MINN), 354.30
  8. Addison Boschult (IOWA), 354.05

In This Story

Leave a Reply

Notify of
1 Comment
newest most voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Soki Bili
5 years ago

Great swim Boppo -good luck tonight

About Karl Ortegon

Karl Ortegon

Karl Ortegon studied sociology at Wesleyan University in Middletown, CT, graduating in May of 2018. He began swimming on a club team in first grade and swam four years for Wesleyan.

Read More »