Maya DiRado Scratches 400 IM Final on Day 1 of PSS – Minneapolis


Tonight’s final session (timeline is available here) of the Arena Pro Swim Series at Minneapolis will feature all championship and consolation finals first, followed by C and D finals. In the women’s 200 free, all 16 A and B finalists are accounted for. Katie Ledecky of Nations’ Capital Swim Club led the field with a 1:57.39 this morning. She will be surrounded by Leah Smith (1:58.13) and Missy Franklin of Colorado Stars (1:59.17).

In the men’s race, SwimMAC Elite’s Tyler Clary, who finished 13th in prelims with 1:51.72, bowed out of finals, allowing North Baltimore Aquatic Club’s Chase Kalisz (1:52.12) to move into the consolation. The top three qualifiers were Conor Dwyer of Trojan Swim Club (1:48.95), Joao De Lucca of Cardinal Aquatics (1:49.68), and SwimMAC’s Ryan Lochte (1:49.69). Michael Phelps of NBAC qualified tenth with 1:51.34.

In the 100 breaststroke, only fifth-place qualifier Haley Spencer of Minnesota Aquatics (1:09.35) scratched. That moved Rachel Munson of University of Minnesota (1:10.10) into the A final and Val Tarazi (1:11.61) into the B. SwimMAC’s Micah Lawrence (1:07.90) and Louisville’s Andee Cottrell (1:07.90) tied for the top qualifying spot.

All qualifying finalists in the men’s 100 breast are expected to show up to their appointed lanes. Leading the field this morning was Louisville’s Carlos Claverie (1:01.02), followed by Badger Swim Club’s Cody Miller (1:01.07).

D-final qualifiers Caitlin Leverenz and Etienne Medeiros were the only scratches in the women’s 100 fly; the championship and consolation finals didn’t budge. Leverenz will contest the 400 IM final, which is the next event, so presumably she pulled out to concentrate on the IM, her bread-and-butter event. Louisville’s Kelsi Worrell and California Aquatics’ Dana Vollmer qualified first and second for finals, with 58.03 and 58.22, respectively.

There was nary a scratch on the men’s side of the 100 fly. Santo Condorelli of Canyons Aquatic Club turned in the morning’s fastest time (53.25), just .02 ahead of SwimMAC’s Lochte. Phelps was 53.70, tied for fourth with Indie Swimming’s Michael Andrew.

Maya DiRado, who qualified third (4:44.02) in the 400 IM, scratched the final leaving room for Cal’s Leverenz (4:46.02). Saint Petersburg’s Melanie Margalis (4:46.48) also bowed out of tonight’s final, so both Kay Sargent of Victor Swim Club and Penn State’s Monika Gonzalez moved into the consolation. Becca Mann of North Baltimore (4:42.27) and Ledecky (4:42.43) led the field, and should make for an exciting final tonight.

Connor Jaeger (4:27.45) of Club Wolverine scratched the men’s 400 IM final, so Purdue’s Guillermo Blanco (4:29.44) moved into the A final and Gator Swim Club’s Dan Wallace (4:33.75) will get lane 8 in the B final. Kalisz (4:19.30) and Princeton’s Corey Okubo (4:24.98) were the top two qualifiers. SwimMAC’s Clary (4:26.04) will be on the other side of Kalisz.

You can find the complete heat sheet for Day One finals here.

In This Story

Leave a Reply

About Anne Lepesant

Anne Lepesant

Anne Lepesant is the mother of four daughters, all of whom swim/swam in college. With an undergraduate degree from Princeton (where she was an all-Ivy tennis player) and an MBA from INSEAD, she worked for many years in the financial industry, both in France and the U.S. Anne is currently …

Read More »