2014 Charlotte Grand Prix – Day 4 Prelims Live Recap

Today is a relatively smaller day compared to yesterday. The first event of the day is the 200 IM, followed by the 200 backstroke, and 100 freestyle. The women’s 800 freestyle and men’s 1500 freestyle will be timed finals during the afternoon session, while the final heat of each event will swim during tonight’s final’s session.

Katinka Hosszu has the fastest seed time coming into this weekend, but her heavy schedule might be getting to her. She is the iron woman of swimming, winning four events (200 FR, 400 IM, 200 FLY, 100 BA) this weekend already and finaling in one other event (400 FR). She is also entered in the 200 backstroke with the second fastest time in the field, just behind Elizabeth Beisel.

The men’s 200 IM should be a fun race to watch. Chase Kalisz Conor Dwyer have been fast all weekend, and should do well in the 200 IM. Tyler Clary should be back today after taking saturday off to partner with NASCAR driver Jimmie Johnson for a triathlon. There are a lot of older, experienced swimmers entered in this race, but do not count out Andrew Seliskar and Joseph Schooling. Seliskar was the runner up in the 400 IM to Kalisz and he won the 200 butterfly last night. Schooling hasn’t won anything yet, but he has been in several finals this weekend and could be a factor in this race.

Elizabeth Beisel has the top seed in the women’s 200 IM. The race should be between her, Kathleen Baker, and Katinka Hosszu. That group has been solid all weekend. In the 100 backstroke last night, Ali Deloof and Megan Romano looked strong, finishing in the top 4.

Tyler Clary and Arkady Vyatchanin should have a good race in the men’s 200 backstroke. They have the two fastest seed times this weekend. Arkady Vyatchanin won the men’s 100 backstroke yesterday, but Clary did not swim, so who knows how that race may have turned out had Clary been swimming.


Women’s 200 IM – Prelims

Katinka Hosszu posts the fastest time of the morning to qualify as the top seed in the women’s 200 IM. Her time of 2:13.40 is almost two seconds ahead of the second seed, Melanie Margalis, with her time of 2:15.03. Brooke Zieger qualified third with her time of 2:15.86, followed by Becca Mann in fourth at 2:16.44. Kathleen Baker, Tanja Kylliainen, Madisyn Cox, and Katie Meili will round out the A-final with Meili’s 8th place time of 2:18.00.

SwimMAC’s Emma Reaney will be in the middle of the pool as the top seed of the b-final with her time of 2:18.37, pending any scratches or surprise B-flight swims. Theresa Michalak, Marie-Pier Couillard, Ellen Williamson, Elizabeth Beisel, Kaitlyn Jones, Shannon Vreeland, and Annie Zhu, will join Reaney in the B-final with Zhu’s 16th place time of 2:19.38.

Men’s 200 IM – Prelims

Conor Dwyer had the fastest time of the morning to earn the top seed in the men’s 200 IM. He swam to a 2:02.16 for the top seed. He wasn’t too far ahead of his NBAC teammate, Chase Kalisz. Joseph Schooling finished third with his time of 2:03.05, just ahead of Tynan Stewart’s fourth place time of 2:03.07. Thiago Pereira, Tyler Clary, Steve Schmuhl, and Kyle Whitker will join them in the A-final with Whitaker’s 8th place time of 2:04.32.

Andrew Seliskar just missed the A-final, swimming to a ninth place time of 2:04.65. Jay Litherland, Lewis Coleman, Mike Alexanderov, Dylan Bosch, Cody Miller, Sebastian Rosseau, and Diago Decarvalho will also be in the B-final pending any scratches with Decarvalho’s 16th place time at 2:06.41.

**Update** Joseph Schooling was disqualified, bumping Andrew Seliskar in the A-final of the men’s 200 IM. Schooling was called for a downward butterfly kick during her breaststroke.

 Women’s 200 Backstroke – Prelims

Katinka Hosszu turns in the fastest time of the morning at 2:13.17. She was just ahead of Hannah Moore, who had the second fastest time of the morning at 2:13.29. Megan Romano and Caroline Colorado were third and fourth at 2:14’s, and Brooke Zieger and Elizabeth Beisel were 2:15’s for fifth and sixith. Joining them in the final will be Yin Yin Lau and Hellen Moffitt, with Moffitt’s 8th place time of 2:16.80.

Caroline Arakelian will be the top seeded swimmer in the B-final of the women’s 200 backstroke with her time of 2:17.01. Vien Nguyen, Emily Nguyen, Emily Meilus, Kennedy Goss, Tasija Karosas, Isabella Arcila, Melanie Margalis, and Victoria Mitchell will also be in the B-final with Mitchell’s 16th place time of 2:18.54.

Men’s 200 Backstroke – Prelims 

Tyler Clary and Arkady Vyatchanin had the fastest two times of this morning and were the only two under 2 minutes. Clary had the top time at 1:58.88 and Vyatchanin was second at 1:58.94. Omar Pinzon finished third at 2:01.00. Connor Green and Corey Main were fourth and fifth at 2:01.36 and 2:02.03, respectively. Drew teDuits, James Wells, and Charlie Boldison will also be in the A-final of the men’s 200 backstroke with his 8th place time of 2:03.53.

Tynan Stewart will the top seed in the B-final with his time of 2:03.83. Joining Stewart will be Carter Griffin, Eugene Godsoe, Yeziel Morales, Jonathan Carlisle, Koya Osada, Joey Reilman, and Jay Litherland with Litherland’s 16th place time of 2:06.60.

Women’s 100 Freestyle – Prelims

Allison Schmitt got her hand on the wall to claim the top seed in the women’s 100 freestyle with her time of 55.25. Ariana Vanderpool-Wallace, the winner of the 50 freestyle and 50 butterfly last night, qualified second at 55.36. Madison Kennedy and Megan Romano were 3rd and 4th at 55.77 and 55.92. Shannon Vreeland, Rebecca Guy, Cierra Runge, and Jessica Lloyd will round out the A-final with a Lloyd’s 8th place time of 56.54.

Ivy Martin posted the ninth fastest time of the morning at 56.56. Amanda Weir, Michelle Williams, Jessica Hardy, Faith Johnson, Patricia Castro Ortega, Anastasia Bogdanovski, and Kelsi Worrell round out the B-final with Worrell’s 16th place time of 57.30.

Men’s 100 Freestyle – Prelims

Bruno Fratus swum the fastest time of the morning and was the only swimmer to break 50 with his time of 49.47. Anthony Ervin had the second fastest time at 50.25, followed by Conor Dwyer at 50.58 and Thiago Pereira at 50.73. Mark Weber, Yannick Agnel, Jonathan Boffa, and Kristian Gkolomeev rounded out the A-final with Gkolomeev’s 8th place time of 50.95.

Cullen Jones narrowly missed the A-final with the ninth fastest time of the morning at 51.01. Yuri Kisil, Miguel Ortiz, Anders Nielsen, Dax Hill, Matt McLean, Shane Ryan, and Bruno Ortiz also qualified to swim in the B-final with Ortiz’s 16th place time at 51.39.

In This Story

Leave a Reply

Notify of

1 Comment
oldest most voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Philip Johnson
9 years ago

Hosszu is a straight up beast.

About Tony Carroll

Tony Carroll

The writer formerly known as "Troy Gennaro", better known as Tony Carroll, has been working with SwimSwam since April of 2013. Tony grew up in northern Indiana and started swimming in 2003 when his dad forced him to join the local swim team. Reluctantly, he joined on the condition that …

Read More »