18 squads to battle it out at World Junior Water Polo Championships

18 junior water polo teams from the five continents are set to fight for the 18th FINA World Men’s Junior Water Polo Championships title in Almaty, Kazakhstan from September 4-12.

Contested by players of 20 years old and younger, the distribution of the national squads is done by groups, as follows:

GROUP A: Croatia, Montenegro, Egypt, South Africa
GROUP B: Japan, Netherlands, Hungary, Greece, China
GROUP C: Iran, Serbia, Australia, Mexico
GROUP D: Canada, Uzbekistan, Italy, Kazakhstan, Spain

The preliminaries will be staged on September 4-8, followed by the qualification round (September 9), the quarter final round (September 10), the semi-final round (September 11) and final round (September 12).

At the previous edition of this event in 2013, the three squads on the podium were: Italy (gold), Croatia (silver) and Serbia (bronze).

A large selection of the tournament’s games will be live streamed worldwide and free of charge on FINAtv

Swimming news courtesy of FINA.

Leave a Reply

Be the First to Comment!


About Lauren Neidigh

Lauren Neidigh

Lauren Neidigh is a former NCAA swimmer at the University of Arizona and the University of Florida. She got her M.S. in Criminology from Florida State and seems exceptionally confused about which team she should cheer for during the college football season. Lauren is currently working on her M.A. in …

Read More »