18 Brazilian Athletes Post Qualifying Standards for Kazan

D’Artagnan Dias, SwimSwam’s Brazilian correspondent and a resident of Rio de Janeiro, Brazil, contributed to this article.

In the first of Brazil’s two qualifying meets 18 athletes swam times under the standards needed to attend the World Championships in Kazan. Brazilian athletes will have another shot at making the team at the Maria Lenk Trophy in April.

Qualifying standards can be found here.

Those swimmers include six women and 12 men:


  • Etienne Medeiros – 50 freestyle, 50 backstroke
  • Graciele Hermann – 50 freestyle
  • Joanna Maranhao – 200 and 400 IM
  • Lorrane Ferreira – 50 freestyle
  • Daynara de Paula – 100 butterfly
  • Daiene Dias – 100 butterfly


  • Bruno Fratus – 50 and 100 freestyle
  • Nicholas Santos – 50 freestyle and 50 butterfly
  • Walter Pereira Lessa – 50 freestyle
  • Italo Duarte – 50 freestyle
  • Felipe Franca de Silva – 50 and 100 breaststroke
  • Thiago Simon – 200 breaststroke
  • Thiago Pereira – 200 IM, 100 butterfly
  • Leondardo de Deus – 400 freestyle, 200 butterfly
  • Cesar Cielo – 50 and 100 freestyle, 50 butterfly
  • Guilherme Guido – 100 backstroke
  • Joao Gomes Jr – 50 breaststroke
  • Henrique Rodrigues – 200 IM

The final night of competition began with the women’s 200 butterfly which saw Manuella Lyrio and Yana Medeiros battle it out for the national championship title. Lyrio eventually took the race in a time of 2:14.53 followed by Medeiros who touched in a time of 2:15.04. Julia Gerotto finished third in a time of 2:16.20.

Leonardo de Deus dominated the field winning the event by close to two seconds finishing in a time of 1:56.93. de Deus just snuck under the qualifying standard of 1:56.97 which enables him to swim the event in Kazan. He was followed by Marcus Ferrari who recorded a 1:58.65 and Frederico Castro who hit the wall in a time of 1:59.54.

Etiene Medeiros continued to have an impressive December this time setting a new South American record in the 50 freestyle. Medeiros used her start and underwater prowess to win the event in a time of 24.74. Graciele Hermann finished second in a time of 24.87. Both women posted times that will qualify them to swim the event in Kazan.

Lorrane Ferreira finished third in a time of 25.36.

After a good morning swim in the 50 freestyle Bruno Fratus returned to the water in the final swimming a personal best posting a time of 21.41 beating his previous best of 21.44. Fratus has shown an incredible amount of consistency this year going under 21.50 for the fourth time this year.

His future training partner Nicholas Dos Santos finished second in a 22.17 followed by Italo Duarte who recorded a 22.25

Beatriz Travalon took the women’s 100 breaststroke in a time of 1:09.49. Travalon was pushed in the second half of the race by 17 year old Jhennifer da Conceicao who finished second in a time of 1:09.56. Renata Sander finished third in a time of 1:10.84.

Felipe França de Silva  won the men’s 100 breaststroke in a time of 1:00.43 followed by but João Gomes Junior who hit the wall in a time of 1:00.86.  Felipe Lima was third in 1:01.10. The Brazilians are started to develop some depth this event as the top seven swimmers all finished under the 1:02 mark.

The women’s 400 and 800 freestyle followed very similar scripts as Viviane Jungblut would take the race out strong only to be passed by Bruna Primati who would ultimately win both events. The 1500 freestyle had a different storyline as Jungblut held on to the lead winning the event in a new championship record time of 16:49.26. Primati finished second in a time of 16:59.51 followed by Julia Gerotto who took her second bronze of the evening touching in a time of 17:21.92.

Miguel Leite Valente showed tremendous control in the men’s 800 freestyle even splitting the race swimming a 4:00.17 in both the first and second half winning the event in a new championship record time of 8:00.34.

Lucas Kanieski finished second in a time of 8:05.33 followed by Luiz Rogerio Arapiraca who touched in a time of 8:06.34.

The meet was also a qualifier for the World Junior Championships. Three swimmers qualified for Singapore which included:

  • Giovanny Lima – 200 butterfly
  • Gabrielle Roncatto – 200 IM, 200 freestyle
  • Brandonn Almeida – 400 IM

The final team scores were as follows:

  • 1 PINHEIROS 403,00
  • 2 SESI-SP 350,00
  • 3 FIAT/MINAS 327,50
  • 5 UNISANTA 85,00
  • 6 GNU 68,00
  • 7 NN SESI CPR 63,00
  • 8 FLUMINENSE FC/RJ 47,00
  • 9 CR FLAMENGO/RJ 44,00
  • 10 BOTAFOGO FR/RJ 40,50


In This Story

Leave a Reply

Notify of
1 Comment
newest most voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
5 years ago

Great time by Fratus with another PB, but Medeiros was outstanding despite being dead tired after SC Worlds.Next Maria Lenk Trophy will be interesting to see her.

About Jeff Grace

Jeff Grace

Jeff is a 500 hour registered yoga teacher who holds diplomas in Coaching (Douglas College) and High Performance Coaching (National Coaching Institute - Calgary). He has a background of over 20 years in the coaching profession, where he has used a unique and proven teaching methodology to help many achieve their …

Read More »