Yu Zhou Sweeps Zone D, Minnesota Adds 1 More NCAA Diver On Final Day

Minnesota sophomore Yu Zhou completed a sweep of the women’s events at the 2016 Zone D Championships with a platform win, and her Gophers added one more diver to NCAAs to bring their roster to 7.

Full results

Zhou, the defending NCAA champ on 3-meter, won all three boards at Zones, punctuated by an 11-point win on platform. Her teammate Lexi Tenebaum was second as a Minnesota team that’s a little thinner in the pool this year crushed the diving qualification.

Zhou, Tenenbaum and Jessica Ramberg are all in for the women, and all earned repeat qualifying spots on platform. Matt Barnard, Manny Pollard and Dylan Zoe were all already qualified for the men and also earned qualifying spots on platform, plus Alan LeBlang joined the roster with a 7th-place platform finish.

Texas’s Mark Anderson added his second win of the meet on platform, and the Longhorns look primed to repeat as men’s NCAA champs after qualifying 3 men, all under NCAA reimbursement status.

The final qualifying lists are below. 7 women and 8 men will earn NCAA reimbursement, and the rest of the names are eligible to compete at NCAAs on their school’s dime.*

*The full NCAA selection procedures are spelled out at the bottom of this story.

Priority Finisher Women Men
1 3-meter Champ Yu Zhou, MINN Mark Anderson, TX
2 1-meter Champ Yu Zhou, MINN Sam Thornton, A&M
3 Platform Champ Yu Zhou, MINN Mark Anderson, TX
4 3-meter 2nd Madison Hudkins, A&M Matt Barnard, MINN
5 1-meter 2nd Elizabeth Cui, LSU Cory Bowersox, TX
6 Platform 2nd Lexi Tenenbaum, MINN Tyler Henschel, A&M
7 3-meter 3rd Cassie Weil, LSU Clark Thomas, MIZZ
8 1-meter 3rd Meghan O’Brien, TX Mark Anderson, TX
9 Platform 3rd Cassie Weil, LSU Matt Barnard, MINN
10 3-meter 4th Lexi Tenebaum, MINN Sean O’Brien, TX
11 1-meter 4th Jessica Ramberg, MINN
12 Platform 4th Madison Sthamann, LSU Dylan Zoe, MINN
13 3-meter 5th Meghan O’Brien, TX Cory Bowersox, TX
14 1-meter 5th Anna Filipcic, NEB Manny Pollard, MINN
15 Platform 5th Madeline McKernan, MIZZ Addison Boschult, IA
16 3-meter 6th Nicole Gillis, AIR Bryce Klein, SMU
17 1-meter 6th Meghan Houston, TX Dylan Zoe, MINN
18 Platform 6th Alais Kalonji, A&M Kyle Goodwin, MIZZ
19 3-meter 7th Meghan Houston, TX Tyler Henschel, A&M
20 1-meter 7th Matt Barnard, MINN
21 Platform 7th Calli Head, IA Alan LeBlang, MINN
22 3-meter 8th Elizabeth Cui, LSU
23 1-meter 8th
24 Platform 8th Jessica Ramberg, MINN Manny Pollard, MINN
25 3-meter 9th Anna Filipcic, NEB
26 1-meter 9th
27 Platform 9th Lydia Lehnert, IA

(Athletes in bold are locked in for NCAA reimbursement. Athletes who have doubled up on qualifying spots are noted with a line through their lower priority slot.)


From our refresher post, which you can find here.

Divers qualify for the NCAA Championships through Zone Meets spread across the country. Each zone earns a set number of NCAA qualifying spots based on the performances of that Zone at NCAAs in the past.

Here are the qualifying spots for each event in each zone:


Zone A 5 6 6
Zone B 9 8 7
Zone C 12 7 10
Zone D 6 9 9
Zone E 9 11 9



Zone A 4 5 4
Zone B 10 10 8
Zone C 7 9 8
Zone D 7 7 8
Zone E 8 5 8

Any diver who finishes within the qualifying spots for their zone earns eligibility for the NCAA Championships. Any diver who earns eligibility in one event can compete in any of the other two events at NCAAs, provided they finished inside the top 12 in their zone in that event.

The final wrinkle is a new rule from last season that makes a distinction between “eligible” athletes and “reimbursed” athletes. The NCAA loosened its rules last season to allow more divers into the meet, but divers qualifying under the new rules do not recieve reimbursement from the NCAA for their travel, lodging and meet expenses – that means it’s up to the individual school to decide if they will foot the bill themselves to allow the diver to compete at NCAAs.

Each zone has a set number of reimbursement spots between the three events combined:

Zone A 5 4
Zone B 8 9
Zone C 11 8
Zone D 7 8
Zone E 10 6

The spots are determined by a priority chart. The winners of each event have first priority, starting with the 3-meter champ, then the 1-meter champ, then the platform champ. After that, the runners-up are added in the same order. If an athlete wins both 1-meter and 3-meter, they still only take one reimbursement slot, meaning the NCAA will keep adding rows of this chart until the reimbursement quota for that zone is met.

Leave a Reply

Notify of

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments

About Jared Anderson

Jared Anderson

Jared Anderson swam for nearly twenty years. Then, Jared Anderson stopped swimming and started writing about swimming. He's not sick of swimming yet. Swimming might be sick of him, though. Jared was a YMCA and high school swimmer in northern Minnesota, and spent his college years swimming breaststroke and occasionally pretending …

Read More »