Women’s Youth Water Polo Championships Take Place In Auckland

by SwimSwam 0

December 11th, 2016 Water Polo

Over the next six days, 15 teams composed of girls aged 18 years-old or under will be facing each other at the third FINA World Women’s Youth Water Polo Championships in Auckland, New Zealand.

For December 12-18, seven games per day will be played with the preliminary phase running from December 12-15, quarterfinals on December 16, semi-finals on December 17 and the final round on December 18.

The groups’ composition for the tournament are as follows:

Group A: New Zealand, Spain, South Africa, Russia
Group B: Italy, Australia, Netherlands
Group C: United States, Greece, Japan, China
Group D: Hungary, Canada, Mexico, Germany

The previous edition was held in Madrid (ESP) in 2014. USA was crowned World champion after defeating Canada in a tight 5-4.


Leave a Reply

Notify of

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments