Western Australia Honors Throssell, Cook & Sullivan

The talented duo of Brianna Throssell and Tamsin Cook continue to shine a light on the sport of swimming in West Australia. Both young women were honored with Western Australia Swimming awards today, May 28th, putting the final touch on a breakout year for both rising stars.

First, 20-year-old Throssell was named Western Australia’s ‘Swimmer of the Year’, marking the 2nd consecutive year of the butterfly specialist winning the award. The Perth City Swimming Club standout nabbed silver in the women’s 200m butterfly event at last April’s Australian Championships, the meet which doubled as the nation’s Olympic Trials. As such, she booked her ticket to Rio as part of the Australian Olympic squad, representing her first Olympic appearance.

For her part, Cook, at just 18 years of age, was named Western Australia’s ‘Age Swimmer of the Year’. Cook adds to her trophy case after already having earned both the Railtrain Junior Sports star of the Year and WA Institute of Sport’s Junior Athlete of the Year Awards last year. Cook scored a silver medal in the women’s 400m freestyle at the aforementioned Australian Championships meet, thereby, punching her ticket to Rio as the youngest member of the Australian Olympic team.

Also earning an award during the ceremony, which was attended by more than 350 people, was newlywed Eamon Sullivan. World-class swimmer-turned-restaurateur Sullivan, who at one point owned the World Record in the men’s 100m freestyle, was named as the 56th inductee to the Swimming Western Australia Hall of Fame. At the 2008 Beijing Olympics, Sullivan earned an individual silver medal in the men’s 100m freestyle, while also serving an instrumental role in Australia’s 400m freestyle relay bronze medal and the 400m medley relay squad’s silver.

Entire List of Winners:

Swimming WA Hall of Fame Inductee: Eamon Sullivan
Lyn McClements Swimmer of the Year: Brianna Throssell
Coach of the Year: Matt Magee
Open Water Swimmer of the Year: Rhys Mainstone
Multi Class Swimmer of the Year: Guy Harrison-Murray
Age Swimmer of the Year: Tamsin Cook
Junior Swimmer of the Year: Joshua Edwards-Smith
Technical Official of the Year: Kate Reynolds
ascta (WA) Development Coach of the Year: Ryan Spencer
Volunteer of the Year: John Fielding
Swimmer’s Swimmer of the Year: Tamsin Cook
Max Gerber Multi Class Championship Trophy: Stephen Donovan; Bob Bestman Trophy: Hadley Lindsay; Hancock
Family Medical Foundation Perpetual Trophy: Blair Evans; Sir Frank Beaurepaire Trophy: Brianna Throssell;
President’s Trophy: Blair Evans; President’s Non Swimmer Award: Debbie Doody; President’s Swimmer Award:
Flynn Scott.
Frank Osman Memorial Shield: Robert Bonsall; Jack Howson Trophy: Claire Coten; Nedlands Golf Cup: Tristan
De Villiers; Life Members’ Trophy: Brianna Throssell; Old Court Cup: Robert Bonsall; Roy Hammond Trophy: Brianna
Throssell; Hicks Ive Trophy: Patrick Hoey; Peter Evans & Neil Brooks Cup: Westside Christchurch Aquatic;
BG Agencies Trophy: Perth City.
Short Course Country Shield – Peel Aquatic; Short Course Metropolitan Shield – Perth City; Long Course
Country Shield – Peel Aquatic; Long Course Metropolitan Shield – Perth City.
Club Premierships: Division A: UWA West Coast; Division B: All Saints; Division C: Tuart Hill; Division D:

In This Story

Leave a Reply

Want to take your swimfandom to the next level?

Subscribe to SwimSwam Magazine!