Watch Larkin win 200 Backstroke – 2015 World Championships Race Video

Swimming Video is courtesy of Universal Sports Network, a SwimSwam partner. Video can only be seens by U.S. viewers.


2013 World Champion: Ryan Lochte, USA – 1:53.79
World Record: 1:51.92 –Aaron Peirsol, USA – 2009
Championship Record: 1:51.92 –Aaron Peirsol, USA – 2009

GOLD: Mitchell Larkin, AUS – 1:53.58
SILVER: Radoslaw Kawecki, POL – 1:54.55
BRONZE: Evgeny Rylov, RUS – 1:54.60

Mitchell Larkin is on top of the podium once again after winning the 100 backstroke earlier in the week. This is Australia’s second consecutive gold medal after watching Bronte Campbell win the women’s 100 free. Larkin broke the Oceanian record with his winning time of 1:53.58.

Radoslaw Kawecki (POL) finished second at 1:54.55, just edging out the bronze medalist, Evgeny Rylov of Russia, at 1:54.60.

Ryosuke Irie and Ryan Murphy finished fourth and fifth at 1:54.81 and 1:55.00, respectively. Xu Jiayu also finished in the 1:55 range with a sixth place time of 1:55.20.

Tyler Clary finished seventh ahead of Li Guangyuan at 1:56.26, but Li’s swim was historic despite finishing in eighth. Li broke the Jr World Record with his time of 1:56.79.

In This Story

Leave a Reply

About Gold Medal Mel Stewart

Gold Medal Mel Stewart

MEL STEWART Jr., aka Gold Medal Mel, won three Olympic medals at the 1992 Olympic Games. Mel's best event was the 200 butterfly. He is a former World, American, and NCAA Record holder in the 200 butterfly. As a writer/producer and sports columnist, Mel has contributed to Yahoo Sports, Universal Sports, …

Read More »

Want to take your swimfandom to the next level?

Subscribe to SwimSwam Magazine!