USC to Host Trojan Diving Invitational

USC, featuring two-time NCAA platform champion Haley Ishimatsu, will host the eight-team Trojan Diving Invitational, Friday through Sunday (Nov. 7-9), at the Uytengsu Aquatics Center.

Divers from USC, UCLA, Boise State, Fresno State, San Diego State, Cal Poly, Azusa Pacific and San Jose State will compete on all three specialties.

Action Friday begins with men’s 1-meter and women’s 3-meter prelims at 11 a.m. with finals starting at 1:45 p.m. Saturday features women’s 1-meter and men’s 3-meter with 11 a.m. prelims and 1:45 finals. Sunday’s men’s and women’s platform begins at 11 a.m.

USC is led by Ishimatsu, a senior who was the 2014 Pac-12 Women’s Diver of the Year. She became the first NCAA woman to repeat as an NCAA platform champion since 1992-93 when she won the event last year. She also earned her first All-American honors on 1-meter with a sixth-place finish and scored for the first time on 3-meter with a 13th-place finish. Ishimatsu also won Pac-12 titles on 3-meter and platform.
Also back for the Trojans are junior Sam Adams, a three-time 2014 Pac-12 finalist, as well as juniors Natalie Kalibat, Katherine Van Winkle and Jacqui Suitt, sophomore Katherine Myers and freshmen Annie Whelan and Alexis Cacao.

The men return senior Jordan Gear, a 2014 Pac-12 finalist, and juniors Collin Pollard (a three-time 2014 Pac-12 finalist) and Adam Payne as well as junior transfer Deon Reid from Duke and freshman Dashiell Enos.

College Swimming News / Diving News courtesy of USC.

Leave a Reply

About Gold Medal Mel Stewart

Gold Medal Mel Stewart

MEL STEWART Jr., aka Gold Medal Mel, won three Olympic medals at the 1992 Olympic Games. Mel's best event was the 200 butterfly. He is a former World, American, and NCAA Record holder in the 200 butterfly. As a writer/producer and sports columnist, Mel has contributed to Yahoo Sports, Universal Sports, …

Read More »

Want to take your swimfandom to the next level?

Subscribe to SwimSwam Magazine!