University of Tampa Sweeps Nova Southeastern To Win 2021 Shark Invitational

by SwimSwam 0

March 02nd, 2021 College, NCAA Division II

Courtesy: Tampa Athletics

FORT LAUDERDALE, Fla. – The University of Tampa men’s and women’s swimming teams defeated Nova Southeastern at the 2021 Shark Invitational on Sunday.


Men’s Final: Tampa Spartans 1265.5, NSU Sharks 1174.5

Women’s Final: Tampa Spartans 1511, NSU Sharks 1064

Location: NSU Aquatics Center | Fort Lauderdale, Fla.


  • Both sessions totaled eight events, including four for the men and four for the women.



  • Lindsey GraterHear how to pronounce Lindsey Grater started the meet off with a first-place finish in the 200 Yard Butterfly with a time of 2:00.10. Courtney Sherwood was the runner-up at 2:02.65.
  • Madysen Barnes took second place in the 100 Yard Backstroke with a time of 55.36. Johanna KoetherHear how to pronounce Johanna Koether placed third with a time of 56.67.
  • In the 100 Yard Breaststroke, Elizaveta BazarovaHear how to pronounce Elizaveta Bazarova placed second with a time of 1:02.99. Julia AugustssonHear how to pronounce Julia Augustsson finished third in 1:03.42.
  • Jessie TobinHear how to pronounce Jessie Tobin won the 1,650 free with a time of 17:04.95. Alexa TurcoHear how to pronounce Alexa Turco was the runner-up, finishing at 17:42.36.
  • Hana van LoockHear how to pronounce Hana van Loock won the 100 Yard Freestyle with a time of 51.06. Bazarova took second, finishing in 51.17.
  • Taking third in the 200 Yard Backstroke with a time of 2:01.61 was Lara WiedemannHear how to pronounce Lara Wiedemann.
  • Augustsson, with a time of 2:16.31, placed second in the 200 Yard Breast. Paige Hunt places third with a time of 2:16.81.
  • The Women’s 400 Yard Freestyle Relay (Grater, Bazarova, Roma VrijhofHear how to pronounce Roma Vrijhof, van Loock) won with a time of 3:25.11.


This meet was the final meet of the regular season. Those who qualified will compete in the NCAA Championships in Birmingham, Ala. starting on March 17. Continue to check for details.

Courtesy: Nova Southeastern Athletics

FORT LAUDERDALE, Fla. – Wrapping up regular season competition on Sunday evening at the NSU Aquatic Center, the Nova Southeastern swim teams once again saw numerous NCAA B-Cut times recorded, as well as one relay automatically qualifying for the DII NCAA National Championships. NSU swimmers Savanna Best and Jarryd Baxter won both sides of the Michael D. Fish High Point Award, recording 74 and 77 points, respectively.

FINAL WOMEN’S TOTAL SCORES: Tampa Spartans (1,511), Nova Southeastern Sharks (1,064)
FINAL MEN’S TOTAL SCORES: Tampa Spartans (1,265.5), Nova Southeastern Sharks (1,174.5)
LOCATION: NSU Aquatic Center | Fort Lauderdale, Fla.
FOLLOW US: @NSU_SWIM on Twitter, Facebook, Instagram and YouTube


  • Sasha Maslova finished in third place in the women’s 200 butterfly with a time of 2:02.65, which served as an NCAA B-Cut.
  • Spencer Hohm and Alessandro Xella place second and third, respectively, on the men’s side of the 200 fly, posting B-Cut times of 1:49.34 and 1:49.72.
  • Cassandra Wright claimed first place in the women’s 100 backstroke with her provisional time of 54.78.
  • Steven Aimable and Martin Hemminghyth also posted B-Cuts in the 100 backstroke, recording times of 48.37 and 48.97 for second and third place, respectively.
  • Savanna Best captured the win in the women’s 100 breaststroke with her B-Cut time of 1:02.32.
  • Three Sharks put up NCAA B-Cut times in the men’s 100 breaststroke, claiming first, second and third place. Robby Spekis won the event in 54.50 with Olle Williamsson and Samuel Brettmann following close behind in 55.11 and 55.52, respectively.
  • Ty Fell finished in third in the women’s 1,650 freestyle in 17:48.84.
  • Caleb Fell earned the win in the men’s 1,650 freestyle in 16:09.79, nine seconds faster than the second-place finisher.


  • Alec Dawson won the men’s 100 freestyle with his time of 43.84, just .48 seconds away from an NCAA A-Standard time.
  • Wright earned her second win of the day in the women’s 200 backstroke, recording a 1:59.51. Solana Capalbo took second place in 2:01.56 and Allison Kopas finished fifth in 2:01.95. All three times were good enough for NCAA B-Cuts.
  • Jarryd Baxter topped the competition in the men’s 200 back with his time of 1:47.06 and Xella finished third in 1:48.44. Both Sharks posted B-Standard times.
  • Best also earned her second win of the day, posting a 2:15.07 in the 200 breaststroke, an NCAA B-Cut.
  • Williamsson won the men’s 200 breaststroke in 1:58.27, another NCAA B-Cut time. Brettmann placed third in 2:02.37.
  • The men’s 400 freestyle relay (Aimable, Dawson, Anton Mueller and Brettmann) closed the 2021 Shark Invitational in exciting fashion, winning the event in 2:57.13. This is yet another qualifying time recorded by the Sharks.


The Sharks will continue preparations for the 2021 NCAA DII National Championships held in Birmingham, Ala. March 17-20. Stay tuned to for the announcement of qualifiers.

Leave a Reply

Notify of

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments