Swim With Mike Scholarships Awards 50 Physically-Challenged Athletes

by SwimSwam 1

October 12th, 2018 College

Courtesy: Swim with Mike / USC Athletics

LOS ANGELES  – The scholarship fund that effectually began as a drop in support of USC All-American swimmer Mike Nyeholt, has rippled into its 38th year totaling $21 million raised to grant scholarships to 50 physically challenged athletes at universities from California to New Hampshire. Those physically challenged students are the recipients of resources meant to pave the way for them to overcome their tragedies and realize their full potential.

Founded and hosted by the University of Southern California since 1981, the achievements of current and alumni recipients will be celebrated at a back-to-school brunch this Sunday, October 14 at 10:30 a.m. at USC’s Galen Center Founders Room.

Entering into their first year as scholarship recipients are:

  • Amen Alyasiry, Tucson, AZ, University of Arizona (Electrical Engineering)
  • Brad Bauer, St. Louis, MO, University of Missouri, Columbia (Business)
  • Austin Brotman, Ladera Ranch, CA, Stanford University (Symbolic Systems)
  • Abigail Curtis, Independence, KY, Cedarville University (Nursing)
  • Beatrice de Lavalette, Lake Worth, FL, University of San Diego (Entrepreneurial Business)
  • Jessica Duhon-Rodriquez, San Diego, CA, Concordia University, Chicago (Health and Human Performance, PhD)
  • Gregory Gardner, Lakewood, CA, University of Southern California (Computer Science, M.S.)
  • MacDaniel Graff, Pasco, WA, Gonzaga University (Kinesiology/P.E.); Ben Hulin, Salt Lake City, UT, Grand Canyon University (General Psychology/Performance Psych, PhD)
  • Kale Hyder, Davenport, IA, Johns Hopkins University (Neuroscience/Pre Medicine)
  • Gabriela Martinez, Los Angeles, CA, University of Southern California (Social Work, MSW)
  • James Pierce, Lake Forest, CA, Portland State University (Mechanical Engineering)
  • Jon Plaszcz, Englewood, CO, Metropolitan State University (Construction Project Management)
  • Aaron Stant, Van Wert, OH, Ohio State University (Architecture)
  • Thomas Venos, Anmore, British Columbia, University of Alabama (Kinesiology)

Returning scholarship recipients are:

  • Nicholas Balenger, William and Mary (Law, J.D.)
  • Joseph Barber, Southern Connecticut State University (Film Production)
  • Abigail Bennett, Brigham Young University (Physiology)
  • Joseline Castillo, Drexel University (Architecture)
  • Austin Charters, Arizona State University (Business Administration)
  • Zachery Collie, Cal State Fullerton (Counseling, M.S.)
  • Morgan Dunnigan, Davidson College (Undeclared)
  • Molly Fausone, University of Michigan (Medicine/Education, MD & MED)
  • Spencer Fox, University of Southern California (Materials Engineering, M.S)
  • Hunter Garstin, Middle Tennessee State University (Psychology)
  • Tyler Hoog, University of Southern California (Screenwriting, MFA)
  • Joseph Hunsaker, Oregon State University (Business)
  • Jack Jablonski, University of Southern California (Communications)
  • Jake Javier, Cal Poly San Luis Obispo (Biomedical Engineering)
  • Jonathan Jiminez, San Diego State University (Business/Marketing)
  • Mackenzie Johnson, Auburn University (Accounting)
  • Thomas Kidd, Seattle University (Business Analytics)
  • Mackenzie Langley, University of Denver (Sociology and Political Science)
  • Kendra Muller, Brigham Young University (Neuropsychology)
  • Ronan Nelson, UCLA, (Political Science)
  • Jake Olson, University of Southern California (Business Administration)
  • Andrew Ouelette, University of Colorado, Boulder (Business/Marketing)
  • Katherine Pasichuke, University of Southern California (International Relations, Global Business)
  • Joshua Pollard, University of Southern California (Mechanical Engineering)
  • Kristina Ripatti, University of Southern California (Social Work, MSW)
  • Troy Russell, University of New Haven (National Security)
  • Archer Senft, University of Pennsylvania (Computer Science)
  • Ellie Shepard, University of Denver (Social Work, MSW)
  • Theo St. Francis, Massachusetts Institute of Technology
  • Blake Steineke, Cal State San Marcos (Business)
  • Brooke Thabit, Savannah College (Interior Design)
  • Cecilia Villaruel, Western University of Health Sciences (Physician Assistant, M.S.)
  • Tyler Vitello, Montclair State University (Industrial/Organizational Psychology, M.A.)
  • Chase Wagner, University of Southern California (Film Editing, MFA).

The 39th Annual Swim With Mike swim-a-thon fundraiser will be held Saturday, April 6, 2019 at the USC Uytengsu Aquatics Center.

Go to www.swimwithmike.org and click on video for more information.

Leave a Reply

Notify of
1 Comment
newest most voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
3 years ago

Great people doing great things. Congratulations to Mike and to Ron Orr who puts this together with Mike each year.