SMU Swim and Diving Receive 6 Commitments for 2014-15

Head women’s swimming coach Steve Collins has announced the addition of six student-athletes for the 2014-15 season. Five swimmers and one diver highlight the incoming class.

SMU Head Swimming Coach Steve Collins (Courtesy of SMU)

SMU Head Swimming Coach Steve Collins (Courtesy of SMU)

Alexandra Manasso (Austin, Texas; freestyle), Morgan Johnson (Olney, Maryland; distance freestyle/butterfly), Kyra Kondis (Sandy Spring, Maryland; sprint freestyle), Kathleen Charron (Atlanta, Georgia; individual medley/freestyle), Adrienn Santa (Pecs, Hungary; freestyle/butterfly) and Madeline Wainman (Coquitlam, British Columbia; diving) are set to arrive on the Hilltop this fall.

A three-year letterwinner at Westwood High School, Manasso was a second-team all-state selection, as well as an all-state honorable mention honoree. She also earned first-team all-district honors and helped her team to a pair of district championships in 2011 and 2012. For her work in the classroom, Manasso earned academic all-state accolades and was a member of both the National Honor Society and National German Honor Society. She also swims club with Lost Creek Aquatics.

Olney, Maryland, native Morgan Johnson comes to SMU after earning four varsity letters at National Cathedral School in Washington, D.C. She was an All-Met Honorable Mention selection from 2012-14 and earned All-Independent School League accolades in 2011, 2013 and 2014. Johnson was also named her team’s MVP in 2011 and 2014. Her prep career also includes participation with Machine Aquatics.

A teammate of Johnson’s at Machine Aquatics, Kondis, will also make her debut at SMU. Kondis competed at NCSA Junior Nationals in 2012, 2013 and 2014 and at the Arena Grand Prix Series in Austin. She graduated in the top five percent of her class with the third highest grade point average.
Charron, who lettered four years at Holy Innocents’ Episcopal School, served as her team’s captain and was named Most Valuable Swimmer as a freshman and earned the Coaches’ Award as a sophomore. During her junior and senior seasons, she garnered Girls’ High Point honors. Charron was a member of Swim Atlanta from 2011-14 and competed at NCSA Junior Nationals in 2013.

A four-year letterwinner from Pecs, Hungary, Santa earned the Sportswoman of the Year of Arpad Award in 2012, 2013 and 2014 as well as the Arpad Award for Sport Achievement in 2013 and Arpad Award for Academic Work in 2014. As part of her club (PSN ZRT), she garnered Sport Achievement Award accolades each year between 2006 and 2014.

The final addition to the 2014-15 roster is diver Madeline Wainman. She finished first in the one-meter dive and second in three-meter at the 2013 B.C. Summer Provincials. At the 2013 Canada Summer Games, Wainman was third in three-meter synchronized, ninth in platform, and 10th in the three-meter. As a member of the White Rock Divers, she was named the Top Female Athlete in 2013 and 2014.

The new class joins 18 returning letterwinners from the 2013-14 season. SMU finished 20th at the NCAA Championship and was second at the inaugural American Athletic Conference Championship.

College Swimming News courtesy of SMU Swimming and Diving.

Leave a Reply

About Gold Medal Mel Stewart

Gold Medal Mel Stewart

MEL STEWART Jr., aka Gold Medal Mel, won three Olympic medals at the 1992 Olympic Games. Mel's best event was the 200 butterfly. He is a former World, American, and NCAA Record holder in the 200 butterfly. As a writer/producer and sports columnist, Mel has contributed to Yahoo Sports, Universal Sports, …

Read More »