Pac-12 Announces All Century Water Polo Team

The Pac-12 conference has announced its All Century water polo team, with 4 time U.S. Olympian and current national team captain Tony Azevedo making the list. Azevedo, a 2004 graduate of Stanford, was a member of the 2015 U.S. World Championship team this past summer in Kazan and is one of 7 drivers/attackers named to the team. The team is also made up of 7 field/utility/2m and 2 goalkeepers.

UCLA has the most representation on the team, with 6 former players. USC and Stanford are also well-represented with 4 each. See the release below:

Mondays during the fall on Pac-12 Sports Report, the Pac-12 All-Century Teams for Olympic sports will be revealed. Each school nominated their specific players, as well as the Pac-12 Network research team, which also made contributions to the list of nominees. After nominees were selected, each panelist selected top players at each position, as well as for the Pac-12 Player of the Century for each sport. Check back weekly to see who’s become immortalized on the Pac-12 All-Century Teams.

Tony Azevedo, the current captain of the US National Men’s Water Polo Team, was voted the Pac-12 Water Polo Player of the Century. While at Stanford, he led the Cardinal to two NCAA Championships (2001 and 2002). He set a freshman scoring record (68 goals), a single-season scoring record (95 goals as a sophomore) and a career scoring record (332 goals). In each of his four years of college, Azevedo was awarded the Peter J. Cutino Award for the most outstanding male player of the year. He has competed with the US National Team for the past four Olympic games.

Coach of the Century
Players Pac-12 Years
Jovan Vavic Co-Head Coach: 1995-98, Head Coach: 1999-present
Drivers / Attackers
Players Pac-12 Years
Tony Azevedo 2001-04
Kevin Robertson 1977-80
Kostas Genidounias 2011-14
Wolf Wigo 1991-94
Nikoka Vavic 2010-13
Stan Cole 1963-68
Jim Ferguson 1968-71
Field / Utility / 2M
Players Pac-12 Years
Jody Campbell 1978-81
Chris Humbert 1988-91
Sean Kern 1997-2000
J.W. Krumpholz 2006-09
Alex Rousseau 1985-89
James Bergeson 1979-82
Russ Webb 1963-68
Players Pac-12 Years
Joel Dennerly 2008-11
Brandon Brooks 1999-02

Swimming news courtesy of Pac-12 Conference.

Leave a Reply

2 Comment threads
1 Thread replies
Most reacted comment
Hottest comment thread
3 Comment authors
newest oldest most voted

Way to go Humbert!
Go Bears!

Come On

Isn’t the PAC 12 the only power conference to even support water polo as a varsity sport, and how many teams in the PAC 12 participate? I believe there are only 24 D1 teams in the entire country. Until the sport captures a wider support level then this list is from too small a subset to matter much.

Gina Rhinestone

This reminds me of a conversation in 1993 . discussing the then Balkan War I must have expressed some sympathy when someone said -Oh but thats going to be good for Oz water polo.

Actually it was not because team Yugoslavia slit into Sebia Croatia Montenegro, Slovenia & every comp was cutthroat to get out of prelims for 20 years.

Never count your coins too early .

About Lauren Neidigh

Lauren Neidigh

Lauren Neidigh is a former NCAA swimmer at the University of Arizona and the University of Florida. While her college swimming career left a bit to be desired, her Snapchat chin selfies and hot takes on Twitter do not disappoint. She is now coaching for Loggerhead Aquatics in her hometown …

Read More »

Want to take your swimfandom to the next level?

Subscribe to SwimSwam Magazine!