Nova Southeastern Women, Tampa Men Lead Heading To Final Day Of Sunshine State

by SwimSwam 0

February 16th, 2020 College, NCAA Division II


Courtesy: Sunshine State Conference

CLEARWATER, Fla. – The Nova Southeastern Sharks and Tampa Spartans put on a show on Saturday night, as the Sharks collected the first six gold medals and the Spartans brought home the final four, including both sides of the 800 freestyle relay. After three days of competition, the NSU women continue to lead the pack with a total of 726.5 points, with Tampa following in second with 659.5. On the men’s side, the Spartans hold onto their lead with 706 points and the Sharks sit in second with 628 points.

NSU’s Emma Sundstedt earned her third-straight gold in the women’s 500 freestyle, followed by Vincent Lijoi defending his title on the men’s side. The Sharks went on to sweep the 100 backstroke and 100 breaststroke before Tampa closed out the individual events with a sweep in the 200 butterfly, where senior Brian Valedon set a new SSC Championship meet record and school record with a time of 1:45.33.

Women’s 500 Freestyle Medalists:                                                                        
1.    Emma Sundstetdt    JR    Nova Southeastern    4:51.50
2.    Megan Goldthrope           SO       Tampa             4:55.95
3.    Sydney Willis                   SO       Rollins             4:57.18

Men’s 500 Freestyle Medalists:
1.    Vincent Lijoi    SR    Nova Southeastern    4:25.64
2.    Luka Prostran    FR    Florida Southern    4:28.04
3.    Mohamed Masmoudi    FR    Lynn    4:28.19

Women’s 100 Backstroke Medalists:
1.    Cassie Wright    JR    Nova Southeastern    53.49
2.    Jenna Johns    SO    Nova Southeastern    54.68
3.    Karolina Smylek    SO    Lynn    55.16

Men’s 100 Backstroke Medalists:
1.    Aleksei Averchenko    SR    Nova Southeastern   46.24
2.    Brandon Dyck    JR    Florida Southern    48.42
T3. Hampus Lovinge   SO    Saint Leo    48.91
T3. Daneil Aizenberg   FR        Florida Tech    48.91

Women’s 100 Breaststroke Medalists:
1.    Caily Friel    SR    Nova Southeastern   1:01.48
2.    Julia Augustsson    FR    Tampa    1:02.30
3.    Elizaveta Bazarova           SO    Tampa   1:02.47

Men’s 100 Breastroke Medalists:
1.    Robert Spekis    FR    Nova Southeastern    54.13
2.    Dain Rust    SR    Florida Tech    54.16
3.    Brett Saunders    SR    Tampa    54.26

Women’s 200 Butterfly Medalists:
1.    Courtney Sherwood    SO    Tampa    1:59.17
2.    Sasha Maslova    SO    Nova Southeastern    2:00.30
3.    Lindsey Grater    SO    Tampa    2:02.07

Men’s 200 Butterfly Medalists:
1.    *Brian Valedon    SR    Tampa    1:45.33
2.    Miguel Bernotti    JR    Florida Southern    1:47.59
3.    Gabe Parnell    SO    Tampa    1:48.18
*set SSC Championship record

Women’s 800 Freestyle Relay Medalists:
1.    Tampa    7:25.07
2.    Nova Southeastern   7:30.71
3.    Lynn    7:34.51

Men’s 800 Freestyle Relay Medalists:
1.    Tampa    6:31.72
2.    Nova Southeastern    6:33.18
3.    Saint Leo    6:37.04

Leave a Reply