Michigan Men Announce Schedule; No Water Carnival, But Big Quad Highlights Home Schedule

The Michigan men are taking a break from their annual Water Carnival that has garnered so much attention over the last two years in the 2014-2015 season, but they will be hosting a big meet that should gather an equal amount of attention in the fall semester.

The Wolverines’ only home meet before the break will be their annual meet with Indiana and Texas, with Louisville joining in this year. This will be one of the highlights of the October schedule nationally in Division I men’s swimming.

That two-day meet will feature four of the top 11 teams from last year’s NCAA Championships.

That’s one of two three multi-meets in the fall for Michigan. They’ll also travel to race Virginia and Penn State, in State College, on November 7th and 8th; and swim at U.S. Winter Nationals in Greensboro in early December.

Michigan will then head for their annual pilgrimage in the Florida Keys and the Race Club, before jumping in for a tri-meet against Northwestern, led by U.S. Pan Pacs team member Jordan Wilimovsky; and Notre Dame, under new head coach Matt Talman.

Closing out the main portion of the Wolverines’ regular season will be back-to-back rivalry meets. First, the Wolverines will welcome in the Ohio State men in the rematch of a meet that got very heated last year after Michigan won in Columbus by just four points.

Then Mike Bottom’s squad heads an hour west to East Lansing to face the Michigan State Spartans, who won’t give Michigan as much trouble in the pool this year as they will on the football field.

Big Tens will be held from February 25th to 28th in Iowa City at the University of Iowa, followed by a Michigan-hosted Last Chance Meet, Zone Diving im Columbus, and back to Iowa City for the NCAA Championship meet.

2014-15 Michigan Men’s Swimming & Diving Schedule
Date Opponent / Event Location Time / Result
Fri., Oct. 3 at Iowa (Relay Meet) Iowa City, Iowa 6:00 p.m. CT
Sat., Oct. 4 at Iowa * Iowa City, Iowa 10:00 a.m. CT
Fri., Oct. 24 Louisville, Texas, Indiana * Canham Natatorium 5:00 p.m. ET
Sat., Oct. 25 vs. Indiana * Canham Natatorium 10:00 a.m. ET
vs. Louisville Canham Natatorium 10:00 a.m. ET
vs. Texas Canham Natatorium 10:00 a.m. ET
Sat., Nov. 1 Intrasquad/Alumni ex Canham Natatorium 10:30 a.m. ET
Fri., Nov. 7 Virginia, Penn State * State College, Pa. 6:00 p.m. ET
Sat., Nov. 8 at Penn State * State College, Pa. 11:00 a.m. ET
vs. Virginia State College, Pa. 11:00 a.m. ET
Thu., Nov. 13 Diving Invitational TBD TBA
Fri., Nov. 14 Diving Invitational TBD TBA
Sat., Nov. 15 Diving Invitational TBD TBA
Thu., Dec. 4 U.S. Winter National Championships Greensboro, N.C. TBA
Fri., Dec. 5 U.S. Winter National Championships Greensboro, N.C. TBA
Sat., Dec. 6 U.S. Winter National Championships Greensboro, N.C. TBA
Sat., Jan. 10 vs. Northwestern * Canham Natatorium 12:00 p.m. ET
vs. Notre Dame Canham Natatorium 12:00 p.m. ET
Sat., Jan. 24 vs. Ohio State * Canham Natatorium 12:00 p.m. ET
Sat., Feb. 7 at Michigan State * East Lansing, Mich. 12:00 p.m. ET
Sat., Feb. 21 First Chance Meet Canham Natatorium 11:00 a.m. ET
Sun., Feb. 22 First Chance Meet Canham Natatorium 11:00 a.m. ET
Big Ten Championships
Wed., Feb. 25 Big Ten Day 1 Iowa City, Iowa 6:30 p.m. CT
Thu., Feb. 26 Big Ten Day 2 Prelims Iowa City, Iowa 11:00 a.m. CT
Big Ten Day 2 Finals Iowa City, Iowa 6:30 p.m. CT
Fri., Feb. 27 Big Ten Day 3 Prelims Iowa City, Iowa 11:00 a.m. CT
Big Ten Day 3 Finals Iowa City, Iowa 6:30 p.m. CT
Sat., Feb. 28 Big Ten Day 4 Prelims Iowa City, Iowa 11:00 a.m. CT
Big Ten Day 4 Finals Iowa City, Iowa 6:30 p.m. CT
Sat., Mar. 7 Last Chance Meet Canham Natatorium TBA
Thu., Mar. 12 NCAA Zone C Diving Championships Columbus, Ohio 1:00 p.m. ET
Fri., Mar. 13 NCAA Zone C Diving Championships Columbus, Ohio 1:00 p.m. ET
Sat., Mar. 14 NCAA Zone C Diving Championships Columbus, Ohio 11:00 a.m. ET
NCAA Championships
Thu., Mar. 26 NCAA Day 1 Prelims Iowa City, Iowa 11:00 a.m. CT
NCAA Day 1 Finals Iowa City, Iowa 7:00 p.m. CT
Fri., Mar. 27 NCAA Day 2 Prelims Iowa City, Iowa 11:00 a.m. CT
NCAA Day 2 Finals Iowa City, Iowa 7:00 p.m. CT
Sat., Mar. 28 NCAA Day 3 Prelims Iowa City, Iowa 11:00 a.m. CT
NCAA Day 3 Finals Iowa City, Iowa 7:00 p.m. CT

1
Leave a Reply

1 Comment threads
0 Thread replies
0 Followers
 
Most reacted comment
Hottest comment thread
1 Comment authors
newest oldest most voted
Coach Chackett

The Michigan Swimming Wolverines will not be shut out vs. ND.

The Ohio State meet is moved up one week from it’s recent scheduling.

What will be the order of finish in the quad? Michigan Texas Louisville Indiana?

About Braden Keith

Braden Keith

Braden Keith is the Editor-in-Chief and a co-founder of SwimSwam.com. He first got his feet wet by building The Swimmers' Circle beginning in January 2010, and now comes to SwimSwam to use that experience and help build a new leader in the sport of swimming. Aside from his life on the InterWet, …

Read More »

Want to take your swimfandom to the next level?

Subscribe to SwimSwam Magazine!