Men’s Relays Reign On Night 2 of Danish SC Championships


Night 2 of the 2016 Danish Open Short Course Championships was riddled with team spirit, as two Danish national relay records went down before the night was through. Both records fell in the men’s events, as the Farum Svømmeklub claimed new marks in the 4x50m medley and 4x100m freestyle relays.

In the former, Magnus Jakupsson (24.66), Philip Greve (27.00), Marcus Olesen (23.98) and Frederik Siem Pedersen (21.65) combined to clock a collective medley relay time of 1:37.29. That outing surpassed the previous 4x50m medley relay record of 1:37.42 that has stood since 2009. The club was the only squad to notch a time beneath the 1:40 threshold tonight.

3 of those same 4 athletes were at it again in the sprint freestyle relay, with Kevin Witt Christensen replacing Marcus Olesen. Pedersen kicked off the relay with a 48.01 opening split, the fastest 100m freestyle time ever for the 25-year-old. Teammates Christensen and Jakupsson followed suit with 48-second splits themselves, with Christensen touching in 48.54 followed by Jakupsson in 48.79. The youngest member of the squad, Greve at just 18 years of age, notched a final leg of 49.76 to nail a final time of 3:15.10. That result overtakes the previous national record of 3:15.42 that’s been on the books since 2011.

For the women, Mie Nielsen followed up her 50m backstroke victory from day 1 with another two gold medals tonight. Nielsen first took to the pool in the women’s 100m backstroke, an event she crushed the competition by with her time of 57.24. Although Nielsen herself holds the national record at a speedy 55.99, her outing tonight was still enough to beat the field by over 2 seconds.

Nielsen was a lethal anchor on the Aalborg Svømmeklub 4x200m freestyle relay at the end of the night as well, scoring one of only two sub-2-minute splits of the entire field. After her teammates Katrine Bukh Villesen (2:00.52), Jackie Gade (2:04.02), and Isabella Sorensen (2:02.50), Nielsen threw down a monster 1:56.20 to seal the deal and take home the hardware for her club. Final time for the foursome was 8:03.24.

Although Dutch sprinter Ranomi Kromowidjojo was listed on the entry for contesting the women’s 50m freestyle, the 2012 double Olympic champion was absent from the deck at this morning’s prelims. Dutch age group star Kim Busch took advantage, registering the fastest time of the morning of 24.93. Busch would shave another tenth of a second off of that result to score a final time of 24.83, although she was listed as exhibition for the final. The win went to Emilie Beckman who stopped the clock at 25.23 for the gold.

In This Story

Leave a Reply

About Retta Race

Retta Race

After 16 years at a Fortune 1000 financial company, long-time swimmer Retta Race decided to change lanes and pursue her sporting passion. She currently is Coach for the Northern KY Swordfish Masters, a team she started up in December 2013, while also offering private coaching. Retta is also an MBA …

Read More »

Want to take your swimfandom to the next level?

Subscribe to SwimSwam Magazine!