Louisville’s Kelsi Worrell Wins Honda Award as Top Collegiate Swimmer

Louisville senior Kelsi Worrell has been named the Honda Sports Award winner for swimming & diving, the Collegiate Women Sports Awards program announced on Friday.

She won the award over fellow finalists Ella Eastin (Stanford), Lilly King (Indiana) and Olivia Smoliga (Georgia).

Worrell will now go on to contend with the winners from 11 other NCAA-sanctioned sports for the honor of the Honda Cup as the best female athlete across collegiate sports.

Worrell finished her collegiate career in March at the NCAA Championships where she repeated as the champion in the 100 and 200 yard butterflies. Her results included NCAA, American, and U.S. Open Records in her best event, the 100 fly, in 49.43.

Worrells’ career ended with 9 CSCAA All-America awards and back-to-back ACC Swimmer of the Year honors.

“I’m so incredibly humbled to be named this year’s Honda Award winner,” said Worrell.  “It truly wouldn’t have been possible without all the support from the University of Louisville, my present and past coaches, my amazing teammates, and my encouraging family.  What an huge honor to be named alongside some of the greatest swimmer’s this world has seen like Missy Franklin, Mary T Meagher, and Tracy Caulkins.  To God be all the Glory! “

“It is very fitting for Kelsi to receive the Honda award for swimming and diving. She has earned her success through her work ethic, team-first attitude, and a huge heart,” said head coach Arthur Albiero.  “During her four years as a swimmer at the University of Louisville, she has captured our imaginations and allowed us to dream bigger than ever as a program.  Yet, in the midst of ACC records, NCAA Records, American Records, and even a World Record, she continues to embody the ‘humble and hungry’ approach that has impacted our swimming and diving program in all levels.  Her success is also a validation of the support Mr Tom Jurich and our entire administration have put forth to create an environment where we are given to the tools to create world-class programs for student-athletes.“

The Indiana freshman King won the CSCAA Swimmer of the Year award, but the CWSA opted to select the senior Worrell instead.

Worrell is the first swimmer in the history of the Louisville program to win this award.

Past winners of this award:

2014-15 Missy Franklin, University of California
2013-14 Felicia Lee, Stanford University
2012-13 Allison Schmitt, University of Georgia
2011-12 Caitlin Leverenz, University of California
2010-11 Katinka Hosszu, University of Southern California
2009-10 Julia Smit, Stanford University
2008-09 Dana Vollmer, University of California
2007-08 Caroline Burckle, University of Florida
2006-07 Kara Lynn Joyce, University of Georgia
2005-06 Mary DeScenza, University of Georgia
2004-05 Kirsty Coventry, Auburn University
2003-04 Tara Kirk, Stanford University
2002-03 Natalie Coughlin, University of California
2001-02 Natalie Coughlin, University of California
2000-01 Misty Hyman, Stanford University
1999-00 Cristina Teuscher, Columbia University
1998-99 Martina Moravcova, Southern Methodist University
1997-98 Misty Hyman, Stanford University
1996-97 Kristine Quance, University of Southern California
1995-96 Kristine Quance, University of Southern California
1994-95 Jenny Thompson, Stanford University
1993-94 Nicole Haislette, University of Florida
1992-93 Janel Jorgensen, Stanford University
1991-92 Summer Sanders, Stanford University
1990-91 Leigh Ann Fetter, University of Texas
1989-90 Janet Evans, Stanford University
1988-89 Jenna Johnson, Stanford University
1987-88 Betsy Mitchell, University of Texas
1986-87 Mary T. Meagher, University of California
1985-86 Jenna Johnson, Stanford University
1984-85 Mary T. Meagher, University of California
1983-84 Tracy Caulkins, University of Florida
1982-83 Tracy Caulkins, University of Florida
1981-82 Tracy Caulkins, University of Florida
1980-81 Jill Sterkel, University of Texas
1979-80 Jill Sterkel, University of Texas
1978-79 Joan Pennington, University of Texas
1977-78 Renee Laravie, University of Florida
1976-77 Melissa Belote, Arizona State University


In This Story

Leave a Reply

Notify of

oldest most voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
bobo gigi
6 years ago

KYswimmingfan, you can add that the greatest female butterflyer ever Mary T. Meagher was born in Louisville, Kentucky. 🙂
That’s really amazing.

6 years ago

What an incredible ambassador for our sport. Class act!

Swimswam writers: you ought to write a piece about the interesting trend of college standouts with Kentucky ties making the Olympic team in the 100 fly.

’04 –>Rachel Komisarz (swam for UK) came out of nowhere to win the event at trials

’08 –> Elaine breeden (grew up in Lexington) upset Komisarz for the 2nd spot in the event

’12 –> Claire Donahue (swam for WKU) became another surprise qualifier from lane 1

Looks like Miss Worrell will look to continue this incredible trend! KY girls SLAY the 100 fly!

About Braden Keith

Braden Keith

Braden Keith is the Editor-in-Chief and a co-founder/co-owner of SwimSwam.com. He first got his feet wet by building The Swimmers' Circle beginning in January 2010, and now comes to SwimSwam to use that experience and help build a new leader in the sport of swimming. Aside from his life on the InterWet, …

Read More »